E:Can't open /cache/recovery/command?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by wardo5757, Apr 12, 2010.

  1. wardo5757
    Offline

    wardo5757 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was rooted and had nandroid installed, then downloaded an update that would force the 2.1 update. I got the update, but now i want to downgrade to 2.01 so i can ugrade to the rooted version of 2.1, but cannot do it with this error. Any ideas?

    Thanks in advance!
  2. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
  3. wardo5757
    Offline

    wardo5757 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im confused with your link Mike.. I am running 2.1 OTA now, I want to downgrade to 2.01 so I can run the rooted 2.1 but I am getting this erro message "E:Can't open /cache/recovery/command", I have a feeling this is keeping me from booting to Nandroid.

    The link you posted is for 2.01 users only.
  4. Yakuzagang5
    Offline

    Yakuzagang5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Use the 2.0.1 sbf file and RSDlite to flash to 2.0.1 then proceed with the 2.1 root file
  5. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Sorry! Somehow I deleted part of my response. I wanted to say use the RSD and sbf process or the ota link depending on your status. Based on your reply and my error, it looks like the RSD sbf is your avenue.

    Mike
  6. wardo5757
    Offline

    wardo5757 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok, i know im a noob.... I do see any reference to RSD or sbf in the link you posted. I did downoad the update.zip and that failed to install.
  7. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    What, if any, error did you receive?


    I must tell you that I have not used RSD / sbf because I am rooted and did not accept the VZW update. It seems that, like you, a number of members are experiencing difficulties with RSD. Here is another link that my help (http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hacking-help/24707-unroot-unbrick-your-phone-using-sbf.html). I know that other members of the RS are telling members that the installation can take several attempts.

    Mike
  8. wardo5757
    Offline

    wardo5757 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the error is
    E:EOCD marker occurs after start of EOCD
    E:signature verification failed
    Installation Aborted.
  9. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
  10. wardo5757
    Offline

    wardo5757 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i think that "unbricking your phone" link is the way to go for me. I am going to try tht when I get back from lunch. it seems straight forward and easy to do?
  11. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    OK I'm going out for now but someone else on the Squad will be around. I'll keep checking, also.

    Mike
  12. wardo5757
    Offline

    wardo5757 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thank you Mike!
  13. wardo5757
    Offline

    wardo5757 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  14. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Glad it worked for you. Now what is your next step?

    Mike
  15. wardo5757
    Offline

    wardo5757 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well, ive got my droid right where i wanted it in very little time. its rooted, nadroid is back up and running and it's over clocked to 1.1ghz. I don't know of any other cool hacks, but I am completely open to suggestions!
  16. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    What Rom are you running? If your really into customizing you can make new icons, change themes, etc. If your interested in these items, search the forum there are a number of excellent threads on these subjects.

    Mike
  17. wardo5757
    Offline

    wardo5757 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im running 2.1-update-1 ESE81
    kernel version 2.6.29 chevy..

    I wouldnt be to interested in new icons or themes, i like stock and a black background. but i would be interested in changing the color of the notification bar and maybe changing the icon spacing, I think there is too much space top to bottom on the icons. I havent been able to find a relitively easy way to change the bar color and founf nothing on spacing, do you know of anything?
  18. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
  19. Shibbey
    Offline

    Shibbey New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    OK, so I have not rooted my phone or done any extra modifying. Today my phone locked up, so I had to pull the battery. When it came back on the screen was black eith white lines everywhere. After several attempts rebooting and pulling the battery, I entered recovery mode. I got the same error as above. I cleared the cache and tried again. Still no better. I am now in process of doing a factory reset... Which really sucks since I did not get a chance to record any of my installed programs that I will want to reinstall!

    Any clue as to why this would happen???
Search tags for this page
android 2.1 e:cant open/recovery/command
,
android error can't open /cache/recovery/command
,

can't open /cache/recovery/command

,

can't open cache recovery command

,
can't open e:/cache/recovery/command
,
can't/open/cache/recovery/command
,
e can't open /cache/recovery/command
,
e: can't open
,
e:can't open /cache/recovery/command on htc sensation
,
e:can't open/cach/recovery/command
,
e:can't open/cache/recovery/command
,
htc sensation e can't open /cache/recovery/command
,
htc sensation xe cant open/cache/recovery/command
,
htc sensation xe:\cannot open/cache/recovery/command
,
motorola milestone can't open cache