e: can't open/cache/recovery/command

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by mcflied, Dec 21, 2009.

  1. mcflied
    Offline

    mcflied New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Trying to root 2.0.1 Droid and I keep getting this message before I even select update.zip.

    "e: can't open/cache/recovery/command"

    After I select the update.zip file, the installation bar gets to about 25% and then jumps immediately to the end and only takes about 5 seconds (instead of the 1-2 minutes I keep reading about in the tutorials).

    I also do not have su permissions when checking su on terminal emulator.

    Any help for this error would be awesome. I have searched the forums and have not found a solution to this.

    Thanks...

    --mcflied
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2009
  2. mcflied
    Offline

    mcflied New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The only thing I have not tried is a factory wipe/reset because I want to save my text messages on my phone and can't find a way to back them up.

    --mcflied
     
  3. mcflied
    Offline

    mcflied New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok... I'm sorry, I have 2.0.1 running on my phone, however I do get the same error message when trying to root it.
     
  4. phone
    Offline

    phone Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you are getting this when you get to the menu to select update.zip?

    Seems like I saw that error last time I did a factory reset. I just ignored it. I'm not 100% sure it's the exact error but...
     
  5. mcflied
    Offline

    mcflied New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I ignored the error too. I then rebooted, and opened up a terminal and typed su.... it said I did not have su rights. I also did not see the # sign signifying I have root access to the phone.
     
  6. phone
    Offline

    phone Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like your phone isn't rooted then.
     
  7. mcflied
    Offline

    mcflied New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yup... And I have tried following the tutorials out there however, I still get the same error message. I even cleared the cache on the menu before applying the update.zip.. and still no go...

    --mcflied
     
  8. bots
    Offline

    bots Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I ran into a similar problem while I was messing around with the framework.apk. When you try to apply an update.zip, recovery tries to verify all of the folders that it is about to rewrite. If it senses that something has been modified in one of the folders that it is trying to update, it will throw this error. You need to find out what was modified in this folder and change it back to stock, or else you will have to load up a nandroid backup, and go from there. I don't know of anything that would modify this folder's contents, but I am pretty sure that is what causes this error. Can you remember changing anything in this folder?
     
  9. mcflied
    Offline

    mcflied New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't changed a thing in this folder other than adding the update.zip. It was my first time actually viewing the sdcard on the computer. After viewing, I just added the update.zip file.
     
  10. bots
    Offline

    bots Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    try deleting anything in the /cache/recovery/ folder so that its just an empty folder.
     
  11. mammlouk
    Offline

    mammlouk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Which update.zip are you using?

    I think I've heard mention of an app in the market that allows you to back up sms (text) messages, maybe you could search for that and then backup and do a factory reset.
     
  12. mcflied
    Offline

    mcflied New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I looked for that folder and could not find it on the sdcard. So, I created the folder cache and put another folder called recovery inside. Then inside the recovery folder, I put the command folder in there, and I still get the same message.
    :(
     
  13. bots
    Offline

    bots Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    delete the command folder and try it again. If that doesn't work, do as mammlouk suggested and try to backup your mms then do a clean install.
     
  14. mcflied
    Offline

    mcflied New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I deleted those folders, tried again and no luck. Then I backed up my text messages using a free app and did a reset/factory wipe. When it booted up, I now see the ninja thing and through a terminal, I see now that I have root access and it asks me to allow.

    After rebooting and applying the update.zip, I still see that message, however I now have root access.

    I think it's important to put this error message in all tutorials as I still see the message, however, now after a fresh install, I am able to have root access.

    Thanks all for your help and suggestions.

    --mcflied
     
  15. bots
    Offline

    bots Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    glad to see you figured it out =)
     
Search tags for this page

can't open /cache/recovery/command

,

can't open cache recovery command

,
can't open cache/recovery/command
,
cannot open cache recovery command
,
cant open cache recovery command
,
cant open cache/recovery/command
,
e can't open /cache/recovery/command
,
e can't open cache recovery command android
,

e:can't open /cache/recovery/command

,
how to open cache files on android