1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

DX Stuck in Recovery on every boot, SBF and update.zip not working. Suggestions?

Discussion in 'Rescue Squad Help' started by technogeek1984, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. technogeek1984
    Offline

    technogeek1984 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    First of all I'd like to say I had originally posted this by accident in the wrong forum, my apologies, if a moderator could remove the twin post that would be great.

    Alright guys, I've got a DX I'm fixing for someone. He brought me the phone and showed me what's going on with it. To my knowledge, this was a stock phone, but I'm taking his word on that.

    When the phone is booted up, it will go into the stock recovery every time. Naturally, I tried getting into the bootloader, no problems there. So since I knew I had the recovery and the bootloader, I was pretty confident I get this thing SBF'd back to stock. There were a couple of things I noted BEFORE I started the SBF back to stock 2.3.340.

    Upon boot, when the phone enters recovery mode <3e>, there are already a couple of cache errors that show up before I've even pressed a key. At the bottom of the screen in yellow letters I'm getting the following:

    E:Can't mount CACHE:recovery/command
    E:Can't mount CACHE:recovery/log

    Doesn't sound too good, seems like the recovery might be corrupted somehow, but then again I don't work with the stock recovery personally so I'm not really sure.

    At any rate, I went ahead and flashed the stock 2.3.340 sbf on it with RSDLite 4.9, no issues at all. Everything checks out, and I get a PASS at the end. Unfortunately, I'm still getting the same results on startup.

    I've done a lot of hunting around but haven't really found much on the cache errors that were particularly helpful, especially not for the Droid X.

    I then tried using the maderstock update via the sd card instead of using the sbf. I then get this script in yellow letters:

    --Install from sd card...
    Finding Update Package...
    Opening Update Package...
    .Verifying update Package...
    E:signature verification failed
    Installation Aborted.
    E:Can't mount CACHE:recovery/log

    SO that's what I'm running into. Suggestions are welcome on this one. I'm getting the feeling that these errors are pointing me towards the fact that this phone may have been previously rooted with ClockworkMod Recovery but now it may be too late anyway. Thanks for all the help in advance!!!
  2. pc747
    Online

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,070
    Likes Received:
    862
    Trophy Points:
    113
    First I would recommend charging the battery. 2nd is your phone running gb or froyo.
  3. technogeek1984
    Offline

    technogeek1984 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    That's just the thing, I'm not sure what version he was on, he doesn't even know himself. I have no idea if he was Froyo or GB, and then beyond that I have no idea if he was stock or rooted. I believe what happened was he got in over his head thinking he could just do whatever he wanted to the phone and messed it up. Now I'm trying to sort it out. Haven't we all been there? Hahaha....
  4. huskur
    Offline

    huskur New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,867
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    I tried a few times with RSD lite 4.9 and had a somewhat similar thing happen. As soon as i SBF'd back using RSD lite 4.8 i was back to stock with no issues. There are known issues with RSD 4.9 (even though it says "pass" it is truly not so)

    Try RSD lite 4.8 and see what happens
  5. technogeek1984
    Offline

    technogeek1984 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    I have fully charged the battery using my DX and am now attempting to flash the 2.3.340 SBF again with RSDLite 4.8 instead of 4.9. I will report back with the results ASAP. Thanks for all the quick responses folks I really appreciate it.
  6. technogeek1984
    Offline

    technogeek1984 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    Full battery and RSDLite 4.8, still getting same result on flashing the SBF. Same Cache errors as well. Am I wrong or does it seem like the recovery is corrupt? I've also wiped it with the factory data reset and cleared the cache just to make sure nothing was lurking from the old stuff. Maybe I should try a GB sbf and see what happens... I dunno. This one's got me stumped.
  7. huskur
    Offline

    huskur New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,867
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    OK..... my best guess is the froyo .340 file is corrupt. Try downloading the file again and apply it using RSD 4.8

    If you have a corrupt sbf file you will fail. Worth a shot

    use the one from this link

    http://sites.google.com/site/1kdsdroidx/home
  8. pc747
    Online

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,070
    Likes Received:
    862
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I had an issue with a dx not taking the full sbf, do a system sbf then wipe data and cache . If it fails again then do it one more time. I had to do a system sbf twice before it fixed my dx issue.

    Sent from my ADR6400L
  9. technogeek1984
    Offline

    technogeek1984 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    Thanks guys! I do have the system SBF now, so I'll do that, then wipe, then use the SBF that you linked. I appreciate the help once again. I will report back with my results as soon as I get this done.
  10. huskur
    Offline

    huskur New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,867
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Hopefully you will have "success":)
  11. technogeek1984
    Offline

    technogeek1984 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    Well, after doing everything over as prescribed, I get the same old boot into the stock recovery. I believe this phone may be a brick. I hate to think that would be the case given I can get into the bootloader, but I even tried the GB sbf and I get the same result. Something in there isn't registering. At any rate, many thanks to all of you for contributing on this with me, I really appreciate the help and the fact that you all took time out of your day to offer advice. If any of you need any help or just another pair of eyes on a problem you're having, please feel free to hit me up. I love this forum.
Search tags for this page
android can't mount /sdcard/ stuck on boot
,
droid x stuck in recovery
,
droid x stuck on m sbf doesn't work
,
droid x update.zip mode
,

droid x update.zip signed recovery

,

droid x2 recovery stuck at installing

,
how to make an update.zip for stock recovery
,
motorola droid x recovery system.update.zip
,
rsd lite 4.9.zip
,
sbf recovery motorola droid x
,
stock recovery mode update.zip
,
update.zip for droid x2 recovery mode