DX GB ota root?

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by neemo6, Jun 8, 2011.

  1. neemo6
    Offline

    neemo6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Bend, In
    My girlfriend has a droidX and she just recieved the gingerbread ota update. She is on stock rom and has never been rooted. Im wondering if this can be rooted and overclocked w/ setCPU?
  2. TreFiDDy
    Offline

    TreFiDDy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes you have to download the TBH leaked gb it will give you root access from there you just download droid overclock by jrummy and your set.

    Sent from my Liberated DROIDX

    Edit: you have to flash back to froyo then install the gb after rooting
  3. pa2ees
    Offline

    pa2ees New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. rumblee1
    Offline

    rumblee1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I was rooted when I had froyo by using z4root. Lost it and all the apparently I had when moto automatically downloaded and installed gingerbread. I sent them an email that I owned the phone not them and they should have giv en me the option me the option to accept it or not. Told them I wanted my froyo back or buy back my phone. Waiting for a reply.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  5. TreFiDDy
    Offline

    TreFiDDy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To my knowledge you couldn't update without sbfing back to stock froyo if you were rooted. So please explain how you got it.
    I tried updating it while I unrooted but even then it says update failed. So did you sbf back then get the update?

    Sent from my Liberated DROIDX
  6. FernBch
    Offline

    FernBch New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fernandina Beach, Fl
    There have been many reports of rooted DX's getting the OTA. The exception may be weather or not you have the stock bootstrap. It will install if all the stock apps are present and active. The result will be an unrooted GB system. To my knowledge GB is not rootable yet. If you want root and the 596 OTA you need to SBF back to Froyo and flash the rooted GB leak.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  7. rumblee1
    Offline

    rumblee1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I read that if you we're rooted and the update started, it could brick your phone. So I unrooted my phone so this wouldn't happen.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  8. barski
    Offline

    barski New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My friends phone was rooted, but pretty much stock, only had wireless tether (no flame war please) and the update appeared on his phone. He downloaded and installed it, but lost root.
  9. J_Bone
    Offline

    J_Bone New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Me too. I just can't decide to SBF back to Froyo and do the 2 part or just stay with OTA. All I want to do is wipe battery data for the 38000mah battery I got. Not sure if it's worth the risk?
  10. hazyshd
    Offline

    hazyshd New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just got a DX and my friend was kind enough to accept and install the ota for me. I ended up sbf back to frito (swype) and rooting etc. without a problem. I have to admit it's kinda time consuming and annoying if you have to download everything.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  11. TheJester34
    Offline

    TheJester34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dunlap, TN
    Your phone must be pretty thick with that battery. :icon_eek:

    I hope it's rooted soon. I just picked up Another Droid X today (I missed my Android), and really wanna run Liberty again (if Liberty has a GB version. Gotta research). Or run CM7 when it's fully operational
  12. barski
    Offline

    barski New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I should have my Droid X back from motorola this week and the first thing im going to due is sbf back to froyo, root, then go back to .596 via the 2 part install. Then its back to liberty, or CM7 if they have it going this week.