DVD Catalyst Newsletter 141 – 01-31-14

Discussion in 'Dvd-Catalyst' started by dvdcatalyst, Jan 31, 2014.

1. dvdcatalyst

dvdcatalyst Guest

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

Thank you for reading DVD Catalyst Newsletter 141.

The week was fairly quiet in terms of tech news and other happenings, so I wasn't able to find anything that spiked my interest. But, if you have been reading the newsletter for a while, you might have gotten the impression that I'm a bit of an Amazon fan. Well, that has changed a bit this month. As a consumer, Amazon is still my store of choice, and their Kindle devices are still among my favorites, so nothing has changed there, but as a developer, my opinion of Amazon and their policies are no longer as positive as they were before.

Anyway, more about that down below (thoughts section), lets start with this week's tech news.

[​IMG]

Tech News:

Amazon Console:

Amazon?s Android console to launch this year priced below $300 | VG247

Rumors of an Amazon games-console came up earlier this week. Supposedly Amazon will release an Android-based living-room console later this year.

With Amazon's customer base, it might gain some ground where devices such as the Ouya are failing, but I don't believe so. As a gaming console, I doubt that the living room would be the target that these companies need to pursue.

I believe that the days of a game system in the livingroom are numbered. The popularity of smartphones and tablets is partially thanks to the ability to do something else while watching TV. Playing a simple game of Candy Crush or Angry Birds while watching TV, or keeping yourself entertained while your spouse is watching Housewives.