Duplicate Contacts

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by NJnewdroider, May 3, 2011.

  1. NJnewdroider

    NJnewdroider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sometimes when backup assistant runs, it duplicates my contacts. Anyone else having this issue?

    Thanks!
     
  2. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,172
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +105
    Hello, Sounds like your gmail might be syncing your contacts along with backup assistant. Might want to check Menu>settings>accounts&sync>Click your gmail account>uncheck sync contacts. Hope this can help out
     
  3. NJnewdroider

    NJnewdroider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! Gmail isn't checked. I only sync with backup assistant. It's very strange.
     
  4. lerit50

    lerit50 Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Weird. I suggest just transfering everything via a computer to your google account. I just logged into gmail when I first got my droid and manually typed in my 250 or so contacts. Now they're in the cloud and easily accessible.

    Comin' atcha from my fission'ed d2g
     
  5. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,172
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +105
    Backup assistant is really somethin that VZW thinks is neccesary so you wont loose your contacts but with Android and its ability to backup everything through Google the backup app really isnt needed. However any other phones that arent Google based like Android is would for sure need the app (gotta love Android tho right?). I am Rooted running Liberty Rom and i havent had Backup assistant in almost a lil over 6 months. Your Gmail account is able to backup all contacts. Aslo when you create a new contact then it should give you an option to back it up through Gmail or it will do it Automatically. Cant imagine why backup assitant is duplicating your contacts tho. Hope this problem will get resolved tho.
     
  6. NJnewdroider

    NJnewdroider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you think it's better to sync via gmail than backup assistant?
     
  7. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,172
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +105
    IMO syncing through Gmail is def better because Google is simple and you can access everything through your computer along with through your phone.
     
  8. NJnewdroider

    NJnewdroider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, thank you!
     
  9. lerit50

    lerit50 Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes. If you plan on being on a smartphone from here on out it is better because even blackberrys and iphones have the ability to sync everything via google (mail, calender, contacts etc)

    Comin' atcha from my fission'ed d2g
     
  10. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,172
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +105
    Android Dev's have done an amazing making android reliable and simple by incorporating Google in its design
     
  11. NJnewdroider

    NJnewdroider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, I'll give it a try. Is there a way to turn backup assistant off or do I have to have both things happen; sync via gmail and backup assistant?
     
  12. NJnewdroider

    NJnewdroider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I checked "sync" with gmail contacts and then chose "sync" now. Went into google contacts and noting's there. I feel foolish, but did I do something wrong? Thanks again for all of your help!
     
Search tags for this page
delete incredible 2 duplicate contacts
,
deleting double contacts from droid turbo
,

droid charge duplicate contacts

,
droid maxx duplicate contacts
,
droid turbo ballistic delete duplicate contacts
,
droid turbo duplicate contacts
,
duplicate contacts on droid turbo
,
duplicates in contacts droid turbo 2
,
how do i delete a contact out of droid turbo
,

samsung charge duplicate contacts