1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Duplicate Contacts

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by NJnewdroider, May 3, 2011.

  1. NJnewdroider
    Offline

    NJnewdroider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    Sometimes when backup assistant runs, it duplicates my contacts. Anyone else having this issue?

    Thanks!
  2. 252chevyboyz
    Offline

    252chevyboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Hello, Sounds like your gmail might be syncing your contacts along with backup assistant. Might want to check Menu>settings>accounts&sync>Click your gmail account>uncheck sync contacts. Hope this can help out
  3. NJnewdroider
    Offline

    NJnewdroider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    Thanks! Gmail isn't checked. I only sync with backup assistant. It's very strange.
  4. lerit50
    Offline

    lerit50 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Weird. I suggest just transfering everything via a computer to your google account. I just logged into gmail when I first got my droid and manually typed in my 250 or so contacts. Now they're in the cloud and easily accessible.

    Comin' atcha from my fission'ed d2g
  5. 252chevyboyz
    Offline

    252chevyboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Backup assistant is really somethin that VZW thinks is neccesary so you wont loose your contacts but with Android and its ability to backup everything through Google the backup app really isnt needed. However any other phones that arent Google based like Android is would for sure need the app (gotta love Android tho right?). I am Rooted running Liberty Rom and i havent had Backup assistant in almost a lil over 6 months. Your Gmail account is able to backup all contacts. Aslo when you create a new contact then it should give you an option to back it up through Gmail or it will do it Automatically. Cant imagine why backup assitant is duplicating your contacts tho. Hope this problem will get resolved tho.
  6. NJnewdroider
    Offline

    NJnewdroider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    Do you think it's better to sync via gmail than backup assistant?
  7. 252chevyboyz
    Offline

    252chevyboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    IMO syncing through Gmail is def better because Google is simple and you can access everything through your computer along with through your phone.
  8. NJnewdroider
    Offline

    NJnewdroider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    Okay, thank you!
  9. lerit50
    Offline

    lerit50 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes. If you plan on being on a smartphone from here on out it is better because even blackberrys and iphones have the ability to sync everything via google (mail, calender, contacts etc)

    Comin' atcha from my fission'ed d2g
  10. 252chevyboyz
    Offline

    252chevyboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Android Dev's have done an amazing making android reliable and simple by incorporating Google in its design
  11. NJnewdroider
    Offline

    NJnewdroider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    Okay, I'll give it a try. Is there a way to turn backup assistant off or do I have to have both things happen; sync via gmail and backup assistant?
  12. NJnewdroider
    Offline

    NJnewdroider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    I checked "sync" with gmail contacts and then chose "sync" now. Went into google contacts and noting's there. I feel foolish, but did I do something wrong? Thanks again for all of your help!
  13. lerit50
    Offline

    lerit50 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You also have to wait for it to sync.

    Are all your contacts synced with google?

    Comin' atcha from my fission'ed d2g
  14. NJnewdroider
    Offline

    NJnewdroider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    On my phone, it says the contacts were synched. In google, it's empty.
  15. lerit50
    Offline

    lerit50 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that's because all your contacts would need to be manually transferred over. backup assistant won't sync contacts to google, so you need to do that part yourself, but it is worth it in my opinion.
  16. NJnewdroider
    Offline

    NJnewdroider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    Ah, that makes sense. Thanks.
  17. chrisl20
    Offline

    chrisl20 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    wichita, ks
    ...I've never had to do that...and I've got sooo many new phone/rooted/rom'd/sbfd a ridiculous amount...and all I've ever had to do was sign nto my gmail account and the great programming of google aided me automaticly
  18. NJnewdroider
    Offline

    NJnewdroider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    I'd love it if google would automatically sync my contacts from my phone right to my google account. I can't imagine typing all 398 of them myself. Seems very "yesterday" to me.
  19. lerit50
    Offline

    lerit50 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When you first got your phone, how did you add contacts then?

    When I first got my droid back in Nov '09 I have to manually add the contacts to my account, but now they sync every time I do something with my phone.
  20. Xplorer4x4
    Offline

    Xplorer4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    Not natively though like android.

    https://market.android.com/details?id=no.uia.android.backupcontacts
    This will pull all your phone numbers stored in the device itself. It will not pull contacts phone numbers that are placed in your contacts list from facebook though. Anyways then grab the csv file from your sd card and placer it on your PC. Now log in to gmail an import the csv file.
Search tags for this page
backup assistant created duplicate contacts
,
contacts duplicating on galaxy using android sync
,
delete incredible 2 duplicate contacts
,

droid charge duplicate contacts

,
duplicate contacts in htc droid incredible 2
,
how can i delete some duplicates in my contacts on incredibl
,
how do i get rid of duplicate contacts on my s4 after transf
,
how do you deduplicate on the incredible 2
,
how do you delete duplicate contacts on backup assistant
,
htc droid incredible 2 multiple contacts
,
remove duplicates from samsung charge contacts
,

samsung charge duplicate contacts

,
samsung droid charge duplicating contacts
,
software to remove duplicate contacts on android phone
,
verizon backup assistant iphone duplicate contacts