Duplicate contacts when using shortcut widget

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Wolfwise, Dec 15, 2009.

  1. Wolfwise

    Wolfwise New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My contacts are all fine with no duplications but when I try and create a shortcut widget to send a message to a contact it gives me duplicate entries to select from. I assume this is a bug. Anyone else?

    Wolfwise
     
  2. JayMonster

    JayMonster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Send a message, as in a text message? Are these people with multiple phone numbers (ie. home phone and mobile)? When you attempt to save a shortcut to a "Direct Message" it shows "duplicates" because it is giving you an option to create a shortcut to each number separately.

    Edit: I now see what you are looking at. Curious. Will have to dig more. Not sure why this is happening.
     
  3. Wolfwise

    Wolfwise New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No the numbers are the same only duplicated. If I have a contact with a home and work number I end up with 4 entries to choose from.

    Wolfwise
     
  4. htheduck

    htheduck New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same issue. Is there a fix? :)
     
  5. baruch

    baruch New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same issue - bug? Fixable?
     
  6. baruch

    baruch New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    duplicate contacts, continuing

    Can anyone offer any assistance? MOT & VZW both useless. Would seem to be a way ofbeing able to delete the duplicates????? Obviously others have the same issue, & assume more widespread when others go into this area & discover the issue: hold down home screen --> select shortcuts --> select direct dial to add the # shortcut to home screen --> but will see in list, each # from contact list is duplicated???? HELP
     
  7. baruch

    baruch New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    duplicate contacts, continuing problem, can anyone help?

    Can anyone offer any assistance? MOT & VZW both useless. Would seem to be a way of being able to delete the duplicates????? Obviously others have the same issue, & assume mio. e widespread when others go into this area & discover the issue: hold down home screen --> select shortcuts --> select direct dial to add the # shortcut to home screen --> but will see in list, each # from contact list is duplicated???? HELP and where is the cursor? ??
     
  8. hobitca

    hobitca New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's great! That's quite a very informative post. Thanks for your share.
     
  9. cheapkites

    cheapkites New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I starting to like this forum. Now if Tiger Woods can say out of trouble maybe I will get some work done.
     
Search tags for this page
android htc add duplicate shortcut
,
duplicate direct dial widgets
,
galaxy s4 deleting duplicate contacts using widget
,
how to remove widget shortcut from nexus 7
,

pandigital novel remove widget

,
why does my contact widget show multiple numbers