Dumb question, but how do i use my backed up apk's?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by madspeed, Apr 22, 2010.

  1. madspeed

    madspeed Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just like the title said. I had to reflash a while back and have all my apk's saved onto my PC. What are the commands to get them back onto the phone in the correct folder. Do they go to /system/app?

    Thanks to a newwbie at the sdk!
     
  2. icculusX

    icculusX Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok first off i LOVE your photo. The muppets chef is da bomb...

    I dont know how great it will all work out for you as I sometimes have trouble when pushing APKs into my system... mostly if you are pushing a whole bunch. But the code is somehting like this from the windows terminal (if you have SDK all set up with drivers and such):

    cd\
    cd AndroidSDK\tools\ ----(or whatever folder you have it set in)
    adb devices
    adb remount ---(but i suggest you boot to SP Recovery and mount the data and system there)
    adb push XXXXXX.apk /system/app --(moves your APK)
    adb reboot --Reboots the phone.


    I suggest next time you download Titanium Backup. Super easy and it saves everyhting even down to browser bookmarks and wifi remembered spots. Also, some APKs are in the system/data folder so I dono what to do about this in your case exaclty. I hope this works for ya?
     
  3. Spotmark

    Spotmark New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alternatively, you can create a folder on your sd card named "backups", within that folder create another one named "apps". Place all your apks in the apps folder, and then you can use "Astro", available for free in the market, to restore them all.
     
  4. icculusX

    icculusX Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    How can you restore them all with Astro tho? I mean just by selecting them and hitting install? For some reason I had just assumed he copied ALL his APK files, and therefore I think there would be trouble simply just 'installing' them. Titanium Backup again, I cant stress it more. FREE.
     
  5. nateccnn

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    The APKs almost act like an executable. Not really, but that is what it will look like. APK is just a form of compression and Astro file associates it, decompresses it and applys the extracted files to the appropriate directories on the phone. So it's like clicking an install.exe in a windows directory.

    Nate
     
  6. icculusX

    icculusX Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea man I understand how APKs work, I just wasnt sure what he backed up.
     
  7. madspeed

    madspeed Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +2
    Funny, because titanium backup WAS one of the apps!! Now I did redownload it so I do have it now, but I backed up all my apps to my pc prior to reflashing via RSDlite. Just wasn't clear how to restore apps from my pc to phone. I also reformatted my sd card, that is why i backed up to pc first. Thanks for the tips, i'll try them out here in a bit
     
  8. madspeed

    madspeed Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hmmm, now I wonder if I throw the apks from my PC into the titanium backup file on the sd card if Titanium Backup will recognize them....
     
  9. icculusX

    icculusX Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dono for sure, but I doubt it as TB doesnt store APKs but its own file folder organization...
     
  10. madspeed

    madspeed Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +2
    Well TB is not picking them up yet. But the file structure is the same, you just need to include all three files for each app

    just a thought, but didn't work...
     
    #10 madspeed, Apr 22, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2010
  11. icculusX

    icculusX Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm, ill have to look into this actually... to see how it works because I never checked it out too well...
     
  12. madspeed

    madspeed Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +2
    If you figure something out, let me know!!

    If I go into my titanium backups folder from my saved copy of the sdcard, there are three entries for each app. Which one do i push to the phone, or all three?
     
Search tags for this page

my dumb apk