dumb D1 question - how do I wipe w/o losing root?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by leland, Dec 21, 2010.

  1. leland
    Offline

    leland Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I want to start playing with ROMs, and also fix some sluggishness that I think has crept into my phone.

    How can I blow out everything without losing root? Is that possible if I choose the reset option from the security menu?

    Thanks!
  2. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    A factory reset will not remove root, so you'll be fine

    tappin and a talkin
  3. leland
    Offline

    leland Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks so much!

    As an aside, reason I'm asking is that I can't find my original nandroid backup on my SD card, which leads me to believe that it's either not there or is corrupted (have had previous problems with files on the SD card).

    Before playing with ROMs I had planned to do a factory reset then make a new nandroid backup.

    Question: Do you recommend going back to stock w/ root and backup? Should I do any additional wipes beyond the factory reset? Battery cache, Dalvik cache, reformat SD, etc.?
  4. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    It wouldn't hurt to do a cache wipe in recovery as well.

    Definitely back up at each step in the ROM process (ie at stock, then with the rom before applying a theme, then again before a kernel change). This will greatly save you time should a step in the process so wrong, you won't be starting from scratch.

    Also, you might want to periodically make a copy of your nandroids on your PC in case a corrupt SD card rears it's ugly head again :) This way you can just reload it on the SD card and go from there.

    FYI, it is definitely best to do a complete wipe before installing ROMs and especially important when switching between ROMs. It prevents a lot of headaches.
  5. leland
    Offline

    leland Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! I'm up and running with metickmod, overclocked by 200 mhz and have nandroid backups just in case I have problems.

    Now to control the urge to play too much :)
Search tags for this page

factory reset phone without losing root

,

factory reset s4 without losing root

,

how to factory reset my captivate without losing root

,

how to wipe cache without losing root

,

how to wipe sd card on android without losing root

,

if i do a factory reset on my captivate will i lose root

,

if i factory reset will i lose root

,

will i lose my root if i hard reset

,

wipe rooted galaxy ace without backup how to fix