Dropped wifi

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod' started by joshoid, May 26, 2011.

  1. joshoid

    joshoid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have been running cyanogen 7 rc4 on d1. For some reason I can log into wifi everywhere but home. I thought it was my internet setup but when I got my d2g I have had no wifi issues. I recently un rooted my d1 and returned it to stock image. I still cannot get wifi to connect. Does anybody have any suggestions? Is it possible my phone is storing old passwords?

    Thanks

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Since you're running a custom ROM I think your post may be better off over here. You may want to search in this area to see if anyone else has that issue.
     
  3. airsoftsoldrecn9

    airsoftsoldrecn9 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What protocol and encryption type are you using on your WiFi network (if you are using any)?
     
  4. joshoid

    joshoid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not very wise when it comes to internet security. When I scan from the phone it says "WPA/WPA2 PSK" I know I can connect because it used to work. I can currently connect with my D2G...
     
  5. Bear in NM

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +1
    Josh,

    The normal first step for ROM users is to go into wifi settings and "forget" the home network. Then set it up again. Been so long since I have seen stock, not even sure it is an option, but I would look and try if available.

    Craig
     
  6. joshoid

    joshoid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the tip! I completely forgot about that route! I'll give it a whirl and let you know what happens.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk
     
  7. joshoid

    joshoid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright, I found my network and selected to forgot network. The droid rediscovered the network and I re-entered my PW. It went thought the normal steps of connecting but after authenticating, it says disabled, secured WPA/WPA2 PSK.... I have tried and tried and nothing seems to work. I even reset all my home network / interent settings to defaults. It has to be something wrong with the phone...

    Flashed back to unrooted 2.2 from rooted / cm7 rc4. I would like to add that I couldn't connect at home even with cm7.... But I could connect in other wifi hot spots. Doing nothing different at home I can connect my D2G to wifi with no problem....
     
  8. joshoid

    joshoid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here is my latest update. disable wifi security, the cell connects and I can browse and DL all I want. The second its secured its all over... I just don't get it.
     
  9. kevdog

    kevdog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive had this happen to me several times running various nightlies. For some reason if I wait a few days everything starts working again. I have no idea why. The forget network trick never worked for me. I guess you could try rebooting the router. Who knows?
     
  10. airsoftsoldrecn9

    airsoftsoldrecn9 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The original droid roms seem to have trouble with wpa2 especially AES encryption. Try using WPA with TKIP.
     
  11. essplode

    essplode New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have this same problem. Some days it will work but most of the time it doesn't.
     
  12. airsoftsoldrecn9

    airsoftsoldrecn9 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    did you attempt to change your router's wireless settings to wpa with tkip?
     
  13. joshoid

    joshoid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't tried that yet. Will try when I get out of work later.

    Thanks!

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page

android unforget wifi

,
cmmod7 wifi not connecting to wpa2 d2global
,
droid 3 connect to wifi disabled, wps available
,
how to un forget a wifi network on my samsung galaxy
,
how to undo forget network on android
,
how to unforget a wifi network
,
unforget a network android
,
unforget network android
,

unforget wifi android

,

wps available secured with wpa/wpa2 psk