DroidX Inop After Upgrade

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by CoDroidAd, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. CoDroidAd

    CoDroidAd New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just upgraded this morning using system upgrade on my Verizon DroidX and now the phone will turn on, load, then freeze - any ideas?
     
  2. droiduserricky

    droiduserricky New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem. Did a system upgrade. My phone loads correctly, but freezes when I try to access any apps or menus. VZW tells me the only option is to do a factory reset.

    My problem now is that my phone will not let me do a factory reset using power + home key. I get to the android! image but can't access the submenu. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!
     
  3. CoDroidAd

    CoDroidAd New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have no idea and I am on phone with Verizon now.
     
  4. bobAbooey

    bobAbooey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Press volume up and down at the same time. Use the power button to select.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  5. CoDroidAd

    CoDroidAd New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nada - Nothing happens

    Had to do factory reset
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2011
  6. coolrmc

    coolrmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The same thing happened to my friends phone this morning when I was helping him upgrade. Factory reset solved the issue and Gingerbread is working flawless.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  7. droiduserricky

    droiduserricky New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    thanks for the Tip. Why did the VZW rep not know about this? He had me tapping the screen and pressing the search button.
     
  8. droiduserricky

    droiduserricky New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    make sure you talk to the "advanced data support" people. Those guys have more insight than the other people who just read off a script.
     
  9. coolrmc

    coolrmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you were not talking with someone at level 2 support or above this is what you get.

    I am curious to know if this solves your issue.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  10. droiduserricky

    droiduserricky New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    the conclusion-- I wiped my phone clean to factory settings. Phone works flawlessly with new O/S. I am currently working in restoring all my backups.
     
  11. sappito

    sappito New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    SD Card Error

    Mine did the exact same thing, it turned out to be an error reading my SD card after upgrading, something in the push. I removed my card, copied the files to my desktop using an external reader, formatted the card, and copied back only the music, photos and such. I got rid of all the system folders on the card. Before I did this, I moved all applications to the phone, so nothing was lost. My phone is running perfectly and flying faster than ever! dancedroid
     
  12. droiduserricky

    droiduserricky New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice! Sort of wishing you posted this fix before I wiped everything. :icon_eek:
    It's all good. There's something refreshing about starting with a clean phone.
     
  13. sappito

    sappito New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Yeah, sorry dude! I was just getting ready to wipe mine when I found a post on another forum about the cards not all responding to the upgrade.
     
  14. CoDroidAd

    CoDroidAd New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, here is my outcome - factory rest - THANK GOD I had backup assistant and gmail backups - saved most of my apps, all my contacts, most of my pictures.
    New OS works great. I think the issue is related to the amount of memory available - if you do this upgrade, just before you say yes, check for a message about insufficient memory.
     
  15. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +15
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    I told two separate guys at the firehouse today about the upgrade. Both had the exact same problem. I cleared the cache via recovery and it helped a little. I just called one of them and he did a battery/SD card pull and its working 100%. He had already gone to Verizon and they are overnighting him a new phone.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums