Droid's Processor

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by michaelearth, Jan 3, 2010.

  1. michaelearth

    michaelearth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Moto Droid has a Arm Cortex A8 processor clocked at 550MHz and I have heard people say that this processor is so much better than the Omnia II's processor at 800mhz. Also that it could even match up with a 1ghz processor.

    How is the above possible and what makes Droids processor so special?

    Thanks
     
  2. Berzerker

    Berzerker Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Droid runs the TI OMAP3430 ARMv7 Cortex A8 processor.
    The processor in the Samsung Omnia II is the ARM stock 1176 ARMv6 processor. The key between the two is ARMv6 vs. ARMv7. The introduction of ARMv7 allowed for faster transfer of data at a slower frequency via better silicon. It also allows for smaller processors and less heat. (quicknote: the Droid's CPU is actually underclocked at 550MHz, the stock clock is 600MHz). CPUs can't really compare speed vs. speed unless the underlying features are the same (i.e. ARMv6 vs. ARMv7).

    As for the 1GHz area, the Droid's OMAP3430 can't really compare to the Qualcomm Snapdragon processor clocked at 1GHz that's in the Nexus One. It's faster and can process information much quicker than than the OMAP3430, so it might not be as fast as those clocked at 1GHz.
     
  3. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    wow berz you're smart!! i don't understand a word you said up there but WOW! now if you could just help me with my 2.1 problems lol
     
  4. SSHGuru

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    How about when you add the graphics processor in?

     
  5. Berzerker

    Berzerker Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unfortunately, the GPU only *takes over* certain processes and does not *aid* in process of certain actions. For example, the GPU in computer on Windows 7 can add to processing power for certain CPU actions, called GPGPU (General Purpose computing on Graphics Processing Units). On the Droid, the processes are divided up between the CPU, and the GPU, no add to add, so it's more like 550MHz for somethings, and 430MHz for other things, not 550MHz + 430MHz for all things.
     
  6. SSHGuru

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    I never thought for a second that you added them together. However when they code 2.1 for the Droid why can't they have the GPU do the heavy lifting of the active wallpaper and take some of heat off the main processor.

    Having a dedicated GPU can help in cases where you have graphic intense processes - my understanding is that's why you put them in.

     
  7. Berzerker

    Berzerker Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm pretty sure the code in the Nexus One tells the CPU to process the wallpaper due to its speed and type (1GHz Snapdragon), which is also why it's a little slow on the Droid. We'll most likely see optimization of 2.1 to have the GPU process the live wallpapers to improve speed when it's actually released.
     
  8. SSHGuru

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    That's what I thought. They will have to re-write the code to let the GPU of the Droid do some heavy lifting but in the end we may have something just as fast as the Nexus One.

     
  9. CorvetteAustin24

    CorvetteAustin24 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's simple if compared to something most guys get.

    Let's use corvettes and mustangs as an example.

    a 505 HP Corvette Z06 is faster than a 500 HP Mustang GT 500 by a lot. The reason for the difference is obviously the amount of variables involved, such as weight, gear ratio, etc.

    The same situation goes for a CPU. Many variables are involved instead of just raw horsepower.
     
  10. ldimick

    ldimick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would be surprised if they let the GPU do much work. So much of people's perception is based on how quickly things appear on the screen. So even though they could let the GPU do some of the work they may not if it looks like it is slower.
     
  11. RW-1

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I believe that some of it will also be more ram on the nexus, has anyone seen if that ram itself is faster?
     
  12. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great analogy. Same thing I ran into when I had a 'rice-burner' in my younger days. My 160hp Civic smoked some cars that it on paper NEVER should have :)
     
  13. specmac

    specmac Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Both excellent analogies. Most consumers have been dupped by advertising into to thinking clock rate determines how fast a CPU is.

    I think its more appropriate to compare clock rate to RPM's. Lots of variables go into determining how fast a CPU is. Most CPU architectures are very complex and outside the knowledge base of the average consumer. Instruction set, memory management, number of pipelines (parallelism) branch prediction capabilities, etc etc. It's all very complicated and CPU frequency is probably the only common number consumers see.

    Bottom line CPU frequency is only predictable of speed between 2 identical processor architectures or as a ratio comparison between different architectures.
     
  14. will.anaya

    will.anaya Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Antonio
    Ratings:
    +0

    yes thanks for the simple layman's terminology cuz all i heard was:


    blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah, FREE SHREK 2 DVD ,blah blah blah blah blah blah blah
     
  15. Berzerker

    Berzerker Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Given that the GPU in the droid is almost as fast as the CPU (@ 430MHz), I would be happy to have the GPU take over some functions from the CPU.

    Not faster, just more. But, it does help.
     
Search tags for this page
arm v7 processor specs
,
armv7 processor specs
,
armv7 processor speed
,
does the motorola droid have an arm cpu
,

droid processor

,
how fast does the droid process
,
motorola droid 3 processor armv7
,
motorola droid armv7
,
processor speed,amrv6 or 1ghz
,
what type of is better armv6 or armv7 processor on androids