Droidmod ROM locks up at least once a day

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by jdparsons1, Mar 1, 2010.

  1. jdparsons1

    jdparsons1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've read alot of great things about the Droidmod rom... So i decided to load it. Ever since i've had to pull the battery on my phone at least once a day. I was overclocking to 800mhz but now i've got it at 600 and i still have it randomly lock up on different screens. Anyone else have this issue?
     
  2. forkup

    forkup Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try another kernel.
     
  3. JasonLee

    JasonLee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    buffalo ny
    Ratings:
    +0
    No issues, except when i tried to have the 2.1 launcher running. That made it lock up so often i had to uninstall it. After i did ive had no problems. IM running setcpu at 800mhz standard profile and all other profiles at 600. I only hope they can implememnt the launcher into the rom itself, not a apk.
     
  4. Chatchie

    Chatchie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Ive had droidmod for a couple days now, has never locked up and I run it at 1000.
     
  5. revjim44

    revjim44 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Saint Louis, MO
    Ratings:
    +0
    Been running Droidmod 1.0 stable at 1GHz since they released the updater, and the sholes rom before that. Current uptime is just short of 5 days since reboot. No lockup then either, just buggered up some theming so I reverted a clean install of the DM 1.0 to clean it up.
     
  6. Kack

    Kack Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Riverside, CA SO-CAL
    Ratings:
    +0
    its all good on this end running at 800 Mhz since day one. only a few addons fonts widgets yet runs smooth.
     
  7. jev

    jev Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Clemmons, NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've had a few lock ups, but the advantages of using Droidmod far out weigh the minor bugs here and there. Once a day may get a little annoying, but it's not like it takes that much time out of your day.
     
  8. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    I've had to do one battery pull. Really, that's one too many I'm not suppose to be doing battery pulls with a Droid, but until 2.1 comes around or something better then this I'm staying with it.
     
  9. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    I've never had any battery pulls with DM 1.0. I'd wipe and reflash it.
     
  10. jev

    jev Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Clemmons, NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've had to pull the battery several times before I rooted so it doesn't bother me. It's just like having to go into dfu mode every once in a while on my iPod, it just goes with the territory.
     
  11. Neupy

    Neupy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Williamsport, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Loose the launcher 2 that caused a million problems for me
     
  12. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    I didn't notice did he say he had the Launcher 2? Yes, that's probably the reason then.
     
  13. Sodner

    Sodner Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you want a different launcher try using GDE with DroidMod. Pretty solid and LW's are interative. I was ready to chuck the whole thing until someone here turned me on to it. Works like a charm.
     
  14. Shaneathan

    Shaneathan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    For the second time in about 2 hours, I've had to do a battery pull. I won't notice that my phone shut off automatically until I try to wake it up and it won't. I've had DM installed for a couple of weeks now and this is the first time this kind of stuff has been going on. Should I wipe? And honestly, I don't really know how to do that, so if that's what I should do, could anyone provide a link for it?
     
  15. revjim44

    revjim44 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Saint Louis, MO
    Ratings:
    +0
    current uptime 16 days, running DM 1.0. 250min/1000max. This rom is as stable as stable gets. If you're having problems, lose the 2.1 launcher and wind your clock speed back a bit. Some droids seem to be able to handle faster clock speeds. My droid was totally unstable at 1.2 but rock solid at 1.0 I can run a stress test all day long with out a reboot of FC. Others seem to have much more luck with their max set at 800. I'd be willing to bet that some of it has to do with the amount of available memory you have, the apps that you have installed, whether or not you're running live wallpapers, or other variables that would be just too hard to quantify. Get your phone set up the way you like it, do a full nandroid back up, and then play with your installed apps/clock speeds/ etc. till you find what works for you. I have my stable setup and apps saved as a full backup, so if I change things and screw stuff up, I can always go back to my base.

    Just my $.02.

    Jim