DROID4 AP Fastboot Flash Mode (S) (Boot Failure)

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Tech Support' started by fern1400, Mar 17, 2012.

  1. fern1400

    fern1400 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    New to the forum, my rooted Droid 4 gives me the following message after I changed icons via ROM Toolbox Pro and rebooted.

    It now stops at a screen that states the following:

    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    AP Fastboot Flash Mode (S) (Boot Failure)
    0A.6C
    To return to normal mode - first press power key to power down

    Device is LOCKED. Status Code: 0

    Battery OK
    OK to Program
    Connect USB
    Data Cable


    Invalid CG OTV (CG: system); Invalid SP Data
    Invalid CG HAB (CG: system, status: 0X0056)
    Invalid CG OTV (CG: system)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------

    I've tried doing as it says and power down and then have tried booting in the various modes by depressing both volume buttons and hitting the power button getting you to the Boot mode screen:
    -Normal Powerup
    -Recovery
    -AP Fastboot
    -BP SBF Flash
    -BP Only
    -BP HW Diag & Boot AP
    -BP Tools

    All of them take me back to the "AP Fastboot Flash Mode (S) (Boot Failure)" screen.

    Does anyone know of a way to fix this issue?

    Thanks
     
  2. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Not without an FXZ file. Which we don't have access to yet. So at this point you have a brick.
     
  3. fern1400

    fern1400 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks - so basically the only option I have is to take it back to Verizon and see if they'll give me a replacement.
     
  4. mwdsonny

    mwdsonny New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had that happen after I tried to install the artic.the phone froze so I tried restoring a backup from safestrap(not switch back to unsafe mode) and it did that after the phone rebooted. Took it back to best buy (where I purchased the phone) they took it back and gave me a new one. Don't think they looked as hard as verizon will. Also had the bestbuy black tie plan. So it was under there insurance.
     
  5. bdsullivan76

    bdsullivan76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Were you using safestrap at the time? Did you change something on a non-deodexed rom? Icons cannot be changed on a stock odexed system without causing issues. If a boot failure can occur and circumvent safestrap than people should be warned not to use rom manager until someone can leak us the fastboot files.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  6. mwdsonny

    mwdsonny New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had a back up of the stock non safe side and tried to install the artic on the safe side. Phone froze on boot. Nothing started. No dualcore splash screen or anything. Phone wouldn't shut down so I pulled the battery. I know not supposed to. Replaced battery and phone boooted with safe strap, but I used root uninstall to delete stock bloatware a few days earlier, but I had a safestrap backup from as clean a start as I could. (Rooted safestrap install).not even logged into google. So when the artic failed I decided that Iwanted to go back completely stock so did a restore and choose yes to replace webtop. Then when it finished restoring it said reboot so I did and got that error. And yes I switched back to the unsafe side before restoring. I kinda thought it was from the battery pull.
     
  7. B-Unit

    B-Unit Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    :blink: Ummm, did you completely disassemble your phone to do that pull?
     
  8. Kack

    Kack Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Riverside, CA SO-CAL
    Ratings:
    +0
    this happened to me a week ago. i let the phone completely dir and then charged it up and booted into safestrap.
     
  9. bdsullivan76

    bdsullivan76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think that the battery pull is what killed it. I know it sometimes takes longer than i like on the initial boot if a new rom.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  10. mwdsonny

    mwdsonny New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No didn't completely disassemble, just a few screws and a lil tape. And battery was out
     
Search tags for this page
ap fastboot flash mode (s) droid 4
,

ap fastboot flash mode droid 4

,

bp sbf flash droid 4

,
bp tools fastboot
,
droid 4 ap fastboot flash failure
,
droid 4 ap fastboot mode
,

droid four stuck on ap fastboot flash mode

,
droid shows ap fastboot mode
,
flash failure xt860
,
rooted droid boots to ap flash screen