Droid2 and WIFI

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by philzo, Oct 7, 2010.

  1. philzo

    philzo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The only way I can get my Droid2 connected on my home wireless network is by 1. enabling SSID broadcast and 2. disabling the security I'm currently using (WPA Personal). I prefer not to do either. Is there a fix for this? My router supports B & G protocols.

    Thanks,
    Phil
     
  2. Redflea

    Redflea Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    You should not have to disable security - my D2 connects w/WPA2 no problem at work and home. SSID broadcast should just be enabled all the time - you gain no additional security by disabling it, so don't bother to hide it again. Anyone who wants to hack your network does not need SSID broadcast to find it.

    What happens when you have security enabled - the D2 just never connects at all?

    What router brand/model?
     
  3. HirolMalt

    HirolMalt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    The Wilds
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a similar issue with my Droid 2: I am running a Netgear WMDR3700 and my Droid 2 will connect then disconnect if I set the security to WPA2-PSK [AES].

    However, if I change the security to WPA-PSK [TKIP], my Droid 2 has no problems with keeping a signal.

    No other devices on the network have any issue with WPA2-PSK [AES]. I think the Droid -- or Froyo -- has a problem with AES.

    I've decided to forgo using the Droid 2 on the home network, but it doesn't make me happy about it.

    FYI: My phone is not rooted.
     
  4. Redflea

    Redflea Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Are you set to 20MHz or 40MHz bandwidth?
     
  5. philzo

    philzo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Linksys WRT54G router running DD-WRT firmware. I'm not sure what the bandwidth is set to (can't find the setting).

    The Droid tries authenticating and then fails and marks the SSID entry as disabled WPA/WPA2 PSK.

    Thanks.
     
  6. philzo

    philzo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I decided to change my router's security from WPA Personal TKIP to WPA2 Personal AES and voila my Droid is now in my network. Bizarre, huh? Thanks for everyone's comments.
     
  7. HirolMalt

    HirolMalt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    The Wilds
    Ratings:
    +0
    2.4 GHz b/g/n

    The droid does not recognize the router running at 5GHz (a/n).
     
  8. Blakely

    Blakely New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pardon me for such a elementary question, but what is the benefit of using WIFI over the regular "internet" connection with Verizon? Does using a WIFI connection save on your data plan?
     
  9. davishusband

    davishusband Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Indiana
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am sure it saves on data plans that aren't unlimited

    Having wifi gives you more consistent fast speeds.
     
  10. nwuwildcats96

    nwuwildcats96 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My understanding is that when you use data over Wi-Fi, it doesn't toward your data limit, whereas using data over the 3G connection does. Of course, most of us with Droid 2 probably still have the unlimited data plan, before Verizon canceled that for new contracts. But Wi-Fi also gives a faster, more reliable connection when it works than does 3G with regards to Internet and other data streaming.
     
  11. Blakely

    Blakely New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you both for replying. Indeed, it does give you a faster connection i've found. Pertaining to what you mentioned nwuwildcats96, does anyone know if Vrz will honor our unlimited data plan when it's time for us to renew with them?
     
  12. nwuwildcats96

    nwuwildcats96 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    As long as you're in your current contract with your current phone, you will have unlimited data. Once you go to a new phone, unlimited data will no longer be an option. That was effective in July.
     
Search tags for this page

d2 android no connect to internet problem using linksys rout

,
droid 2 aes support
,
droid x2 connect to 5ghz network
,
incredivle 2 5ghz connection