Droid1 Stuck in Bootloader

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by emlayton, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. emlayton
    Offline

    emlayton New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    I have a Droid that has been rooted. I seem to be stuck in the Bootloader screen. The Droid was rooted using the "Rooting the Doid 1 - regardless of OS version." thread by MotoCache1.

    My wife now uses the phone since I upgraded to a Droid X. Thus I am not exactly sure what happened but that "my phone broke". This is the story that I get...one day the phone was allowed to "die" by not recharging. This was a few days after she answered the "rom manager" update for Steel Droid 3.0. When she plugged it back in the wall plug and it "woke" to the bootloader screen. Then she rebooted it and it booted to the Rom and had a date of Dec 19, 1969. The phone had no signal and would not recognize network, make calls or surf Internet. She then turned it off, rebooted and it has been stuck ever since.

    When I got the phone it was dead and would not allow any programming. I gave my battery to a friend with a Droid and got the battery recharged.

    I can hold x when booting and get to SPRecorvery, patched by Sir PhyscoS (0.99.3b). I can wipe data, factory reset, see my previous nandoroid backups, restore, etc. The phone however every time reboots to the bootloader screen.

    I then went back over the rooting steps, RDS Lite4.6, reinstalled

    I went back to RDSLite 4.6 and re-install mc1_A855_1282081....as per the rooting instructions mentioned above. The phone will pass. I have tried different roms reinstalled (by mounting SD card in SPRecovery) and renamed to update.zip (thinking that file became corrupt). The phone installs the ROM and always boots back to:

    Bootloader 2c.6c, Battery ok, Ok to program, Connect USB data cable.

    I think it is groundhog day!

    Any suggestions?

    I am almost convinced that the issue can only be that the Dpad is stuck and forcing the reboot to bootloader. Any way to verify this?
     
  2. B-boy™
    Offline

    B-boy™ Team B-boy™/Jedi Counsel Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,893
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    central Az
    Ratings:
    +7
    You aren't plugged into the pc each time you reboot are ya?.. the problem is most likely more involved than that but a lot of people hit the bootloader when they charge a dead phone on like that instead of a wall charger .... I'm sure a rescue squad member will have the answer tho....

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  3. emlayton
    Offline

    emlayton New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually the phone would not charge at all...wall or computer when I got the phone. My wife was bad about not wall charging when I initially gave her the phone. Thus she knew to wall charge at the time of the incident. Also I tried to wall charge the phone for 2 days...the phone was nice and warm but did not charge...thus the 2 different fixes stated above.

    Thanks!
     
  4. B-boy™
    Offline

    B-boy™ Team B-boy™/Jedi Counsel Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,893
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    central Az
    Ratings:
    +7
    Lol... guess I should learn to read a whole paragraph.... :)...

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  5. emlayton
    Offline

    emlayton New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    FYI...

    I have tried a few more rom installs since my posting and am still booting back to bootloader after a successful rom install...

    Do I need to be going back to previous OS version roms? Is there a way to wipe the phone and start over? Should I try the unrooting process? Or is my darn D-pad just stuck?

    Thanks!
     
  6. B-boy™
    Offline

    B-boy™ Team B-boy™/Jedi Counsel Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,893
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    central Az
    Ratings:
    +7
    This sounds beyond me man.. I can help with a lot of stuff but 1969 and a stuck bootloader doesn't sound right...lol. The tut for motocache's is just to flash sprecovery.. after that, you're out of the bootloader and on to installing the update.zip that I think installs busy box and it keeps the phone from reverting back to stock recovery... so I don't think the os version is playing a role in your issue. It's either like you think, the Dpad is stuck so it's automatically going to bootloader or just a hardware issue... as far as getting into sprecovery and factory resetting and wiping, I honestly don't think that will change anything since the bootloader screen is what keeps poppin up... I'll alert a rescue squad member to this post and see if they can assist you... sorry bud.
     
  7. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    "after a successful rom install...", do you wipe data and cache prior to the install?
     
  8. B-boy™
    Offline

    B-boy™ Team B-boy™/Jedi Counsel Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,893
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    central Az
    Ratings:
    +7
    Amazing... I was just looking for you...lol
     
  9. mr_silent
    Offline

    mr_silent Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try flashing a rom using adb shell. You should be able to do it at the bootloader screen when it tells you to connect usb and program.You may need an official firmware version though. Check outwww.peteralfonso.com for the OTA odexed and deodexed zip files.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  10. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Why?? What'd I do??

    Oh, wait that was the wrong response. While that is my normal response to that question from my wife, daughter, or son it really doesn't apply here. :)
     
  11. B-boy™
    Offline

    B-boy™ Team B-boy™/Jedi Counsel Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,893
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    central Az
    Ratings:
    +7
    Lmao.... I have the same response at home too...
     
  12. emlayton
    Offline

    emlayton New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Thanks for your response. I see you are located in AZ? Where at? I am in Maricopa. Take care,
     
  13. emlayton
    Offline

    emlayton New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    I cannot remember how exactly I did this...I typically do 1 factory wipe then 3 cache wipes, install the ROM then do another Cache wipe.

    Is there a better "order" you would suggest?

    GEAUX TIGERS! Looks like a decent signing day today.
     
  14. emlayton
    Offline

    emlayton New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply. This is a bit above my skills as of yet...without a bit more specific guidance to ensure I dont mess this up. Do you have any postings that explain this process better?

    I looked at the site and am not sure which stock files that I should use? FRG01B, etc.??? Sorry for my ignorance.

    Looking again at this it appears that FRG83D is the most current. Thus I suspect that I should use this. Not quite sure now what to do.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2011
  15. emlayton
    Offline

    emlayton New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    any other suggestions?
     
Search tags for this page

droid 1 bootloader

,
droid 1 bootloader mode stuck
,
droid 1 stuck in
,

droid 1 stuck in bootloader

,
droid 1 stuck on bootloader screen
,
droid1 stuck in bootloader
,
how to get out of bootloader mode on a droid1
,
how to upgrade android 2.2.3 to 4.0