Droid1 randomly stopped working

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by ishboo22, Sep 10, 2010.

  1. ishboo22
    Offline

    ishboo22 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried searching and didn't come up with anything.

    I have a stock droid, the only changes I made today were downloading the stumble app, and the vcast barcode scanner. About half an hour after that, the phone just froze and went dim and stayed that way. I pulled the battery and turned it back on, and at first I could move around a bit, but then it froze again. I tried again, and was able to delete the two new apps quickly enough before it froze again, but now I can't even unlock the phone after booting. It boots to a dim unlock screen, and then the screen goes off and the bottom buttons stay lit until I pull the battery again.
    I tried holding x while I booted, just got an exclamation point and nothing happened. It had water damage like 6 months ago, so I was trying to avoid the verizon store or paying my insurance deductible. Any thoughts?
  2. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    what about up on the dpad when turning on? you can flash a file to go back to stock to see if that helps..
  3. ishboo22
    Offline

    ishboo22 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What do I do from there?

    I get a screen that says
    Bootloader 2c.7c

    Battery OK
    OK to Program
    Connect USB
    Data Cable
  4. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    link 1, option 1 then 5 will get you back to stock. this is only a guess on how to fix this.. as if this is water damage, this probably wont fix anything.

    also, hold x and power on after doing the process and wipe data/cache to start fresh. let me know how it goes..
  5. ishboo22
    Offline

    ishboo22 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I really doubt it's water damage, because it happened so long ago. It was barely even water damage, and it's been working fine for a while.

    If I am wiping data and cache, does that include my sd card? It's basically just pictures that I don't want to lose. I don't care about the music/documents.
  6. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    wiping data/cache is only the phones memory - your sdcard will be fine.

    this is just putting everything back to stock settings to see if this fixes it.
  7. ishboo22
    Offline

    ishboo22 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't get anything to show up in RSD. I am on an administrator account, but I can't run the program as an administrator for some reason (It's not my computer), so I am assuming that's the issue. I guess I will just have to take it in tomorrow and hopefully convince someone from verizon to help me, but I will probably just have to pay the insurance on it.
    Thanks for the help, I appreciate it.