Droid1 Help

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by gmflyer23, Jan 12, 2011.

  1. gmflyer23
    Offline

    gmflyer23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    HARRISBURG,PA
    The problem I'm having is I have rooted with z4 root back in early December, I received the new update 2.2.1 FRG83D. Now I'm stuck with no root and a superuser icon left.I don't know how to proceed the best way from here. I do have access to windows XP or is there an easier way to get rooted and back on the right track. A little help please.


    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  2. dasanman69
    Offline

    dasanman69 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is what I did. I downloaded superoneclick from xda-developers.com onto my computer, first unrooted my phone and then rooted it. Follow the instructions carefully.
  3. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Or follow the first link in my signature.
  4. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    +1 ^^^ this. The Super One Root will _probably_ work, but doing it the long way will give you much more knowledge and satisfaction.
  5. gmflyer23
    Offline

    gmflyer23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    HARRISBURG,PA
    Hello all, I've been very busy

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  6. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Busy with your Droid, or busy with life? haha
  7. gmflyer23
    Offline

    gmflyer23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    HARRISBURG,PA
    I've been busy with traveling for my work and trying to root my Droid. I finally rooted the Droid with soup or route. This method was very simple and quick, however I still have alot to do. I've been reading alot in the forums on rooting and since I can't sit in any one place for any length of time, I'm gonna take it slow. I appreciate the responses that u guys had given and hope to receive more. I'm looking to do things in the proper order to make it easy as can be. I'm open to suggestions. Thanks again
    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  8. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    What's the "or" for? There's a difference? hehe.

    gmflyer, you probably want to put a custom recovery image on your phone the easiest way to do that is to install rom manager (free) from the market, then have it flash clockworkmod recovery. That is just a start, there's a much better recovery brewing, but we'll take baby steps.

    good luck
  9. dasanman69
    Offline

    dasanman69 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    "Soup or route"? That can't be right
  10. gmflyer23
    Offline

    gmflyer23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    HARRISBURG,PA
    Yea seriously," soup or route "gave me root along with superuser and busybox. The final tweaked version 2.8 I believe. It took a whole 5 minutes.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  11. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I think he's saying that its "soup or root" not route.

    Sent from my GimpDroid (Installed by RZR).
  12. gmflyer23
    Offline

    gmflyer23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    HARRISBURG,PA
    Yes, I think that's probably what he meant. Oh well, I have to figure out how or what way to do a backup on this phone.I downloaded Rom manager and titanium backup, "free" from market. I'm just not sure of the steps to take. I don't want to lose root or screw anything up. I like this d1 alot, like its my buddy, and without it, that would make for a dull day. I'm due for an upgrade 5 months but I don't even think I would persue that yet. Once I get everything ready on this phone, then I might purchase better apps from market. If I have to, I will make purchases now. Any advice?, knowing what I rooted with
    from this point "Soup or root"
    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  13. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #1. Install either clockworkmod recovery or sprecovery from ROM Manager.
    #2. Download the update.zip file found in http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-labs/74028-root-droid-1-regardless-os-version.html and put it on the root of your sdcard.
    #3. Reboot into recovery. Create a backup with either cwmr or sprecovery (name it something like frg83dstock) then install update.zip.
    #4. Enjoy your working root+custom recovery.

    Questions, let me know.
  14. gmflyer23
    Offline

    gmflyer23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    HARRISBURG,PA
    Ok, I'm going to do just that in the order that u have laid out. If I think something doesn't look right, I. Will be in touch. Thanks again

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  15. gmflyer23
    Offline

    gmflyer23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    HARRISBURG,PA
    Just to make sure i understand, were talking about the motocache1_complete_root_v1.1-update.zip to the root of my sd card.is that the zip file?
    Thanks
Search tags for this page

please make sure you have update.zip in nand or sd card

,
please make sure you have update.zip in nand or sd card#gsc.
,
update zip in nand or sd card
,
update.zip in nand