Droid X2 root question

Discussion in 'Droid X2 Development' started by Droid 51, Mar 20, 2012.

  1. Droid 51

    Droid 51 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm running 2.3.4 on my Droid X2 is there a way to root it and what are some suggestions. The only reason I am posting this is because someone starts off with a DX2 topic and somehow it gets turned into a DX1 topic and everybody gets confused so any help on the root for a DX2 would be great

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  2. RockmanSolo

    RockmanSolo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Western PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Look in the Droid X2 hacks section. You should be able to get a root kit from the roms section. I found my root kit on the Cyanogenmod 7 beta page.

    Modded devices: X Box, Nintendo Wii, PSP 2000, Droid X2 on CM7
     
  3. RockmanSolo

    RockmanSolo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Western PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I take that last post back. Heres a how-to for rooting the dx2. Sorry for the double post. Still figureing out how this tapatalk app works.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1315711


    Modded devices: X Box, Nintendo Wii, PSP 2000, Droid X2 on CM7
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2012
  4. Droid 51

    Droid 51 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I used Pete's 2.3.4 to root my phone it took about 2 minutes and it was done no problems

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  5. themib

    themib Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +29
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid 4 (XT894)
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2012
  6. RockmanSolo

    RockmanSolo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Western PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whatever works for you man. Happy rooting!
     
  7. Droid 51

    Droid 51 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Have u ever herd of losing root after flashing a rom I think I did I went from liberty to miui and my superuser is gone I used the root checker app and it said I didn't have root but I am running muiu with no problems except my apps that need superuser permission and I have done a factory reset twice and cleared cache

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  8. RockmanSolo

    RockmanSolo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Western PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm still kind of new to Android so this is sort of an educated guess. When you flash a rom you're essentially wiping all the data that belonged to the previous installation. So if the rom you flash isn't pre rooted then you'll have to reroot. For example, when you sbf you lose root because it didn't come pre installed. My question is why someone would make a custom rom without root...
     
  9. Droid 51

    Droid 51 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I understand what u are saying but I lost root some how and after I thought about it I think it happened when I did a su update fix but every app I used said I didn't have root and even asked if I knew what root was and where I could look to find out but I just did an sbf and all is good I also looked it up and there are other cases where this has happened before I guess it is just a fluke or a combination of different things I have had apps cause my phone to go crazy until I found it and removed it because wiping data and cache didn't work on the app or phone but thanks for the help

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  10. RockmanSolo

    RockmanSolo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Western PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I'm actually not sure like I said it was a shot in the dark. I know on my version of CM7 on the dx2 it has issues with SU 3.0.7 which caused something similar. Sorry I couldn't help ya out better man.
     
  11. rttwlr7

    rttwlr7 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    will zerg root work with 2.3.5? i had my X2 replaced and it has the latest update installed. tried pete's root tools to no avail.
     
  12. themib

    themib Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +29
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid 4 (XT894)
  13. Minahan1

    Minahan1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used MotorolaOneClickRoot.exe. Works perfect for me.
     
  14. themib

    themib Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +29
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid 4 (XT894)
    not the official 1.3.418, you didn't

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
droid x2 2.3.5 root
,
droid x2 root links
,
how to root a droid x2
,

how to root droid x2

,
is my droid x2 rooted
,
root a droid x2
,

root droid x2

,
rooting the droid x2
,
update 1.3.412 to 1.3.418
,
why root droid x2