1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Droid X wont root after MOT upgrade??

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by jimisbell, Sep 4, 2011.

  1. jimisbell
    Offline

    jimisbell New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Third Coast
    I had a problem with the DX when it quit charging my stock MOT battery. Verizon replaced the phone with a new one. I immediately tried running Z4Root at was told the program contained a virus. Som assumiong that some how the app had become contaminated in the process of reinstalling all my apps, I downloaded a fresh version 1.2.0 of Z4Root. But I still have the same problem so I am now assuming that the newest version of the MOT system has been rewritten to reject Z4Root.

    If this is NOT the case, what am I doing wrong? If it is the case how do I go back to an earlier version of the MOT system?? Or was getting the phone replaced just a bad idea that I cannot recover from???
  2. Insidious
    Offline

    Insidious New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Use V1.3.0

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  3. jimisbell
    Offline

    jimisbell New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Third Coast
    I got 1.3.0 downloaded into my download directory but I cant tell from looking (using Astro) where it should be to appear on the desktop. I have both the .zip and the .apk files available but cannot use the DroidX installer to install them because the phone needs to be rooted before the DroidX installer will work....Catch 22.

    Any suggestions?
  4. MissionImprobable
    Offline

    MissionImprobable New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,889
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You don't need Astro to install z4root. Go into settings>applications, then make sure unknown sources is checked. Then, websearch z4root from your phone. Click the droidXforums result that comes up: "z4root download links/Get your root on here." Download from the second mirror and install 1.3.0. Should run fine. However, no root apps or programs would work once I did the OTA update to Gingerbread and I ended up having to do a rollback. It may be different on your X, but there's a possibility that you will have to wait for new versions of the rootkits to come out before you can root after the update.
  5. NUNsLAUGHTER92
    Offline

    NUNsLAUGHTER92 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    What told you z4root had a virus, your computer?
    And if z4root really won't work then try the 1 click root for the droid 3.

    "Without man, there is no problem, no man no problem."
  6. jimisbell
    Offline

    jimisbell New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Third Coast
    A message in a box came up on screen of the Droid X, presumably from the MOT OS, stating that the app was infected.
  7. NUNsLAUGHTER92
    Offline

    NUNsLAUGHTER92 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    So it blocked you from using it?

    "Without man, there is no problem, no man no problem."
  8. jimisbell
    Offline

    jimisbell New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Third Coast
    Running it to root the phone caused a blank screen, after several minutes, shut it down and restarted it. Phone was NOT rooted according to checkroot and when I tried to run it again, pressing the icon produced NO EFFECT.
  9. JSM9872
    Online

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,928
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    What OS are you running? If it is 2.3.3 then z4root will not root your phone. You will need to either SBF back to froyo and then use z4, or use the new D3 one-click method.
  10. adamwhitehead
    Offline

    adamwhitehead New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Z4 will still work on 2.3.3 you just have to trick it.
    1. Download clockwork mod from the market.(you'll use it later)
    2.download z4 root 1.3.0 APk.
    3. Make sure you have airplane mode enabled and USB debugging enabled.
    4. Run z4 root, it always got to the acquiring root shell with me and booted me to homescreen, that's ok.
    5.go to settings and turn off USB debugging

    after you've turned off USB debugging turn it back on.
    6. Open clockwork mod and it will jump back to z4 root and say rebooting .

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2011
  11. JSM9872
    Online

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,928
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    You could always edit your prior post to include the instructions finish.

    And have you tried this? I have never heard of it until now so I am wondering where you read/found it.
  12. adamwhitehead
    Offline

    adamwhitehead New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok I deleted it... anyway, I've been trying to root 2.3.3 all week and I decided to try a new method, after it closed on me so many times I had to find something. It was completely by accident I found it, I suppose since Tom manager needs such permission it reopened z4 running in the background. It never once force closed on me so I knew it was still there
  13. JSM9872
    Online

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,928
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Interesting. As I said this is the first I have heard/seen that method. Either way it is probably a bit easier to just use the D3 one click method.
  14. adamwhitehead
    Offline

    adamwhitehead New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    More than likely your right lol
  15. MissionImprobable
    Offline

    MissionImprobable New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,889
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Meh, Droid 3 One Click is much simpler than doing that now and doesn't take up any space on your phone.
  16. jimisbell
    Offline

    jimisbell New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Third Coast
    OK, i will use the D3 one click method.....where do I find it??
  17. NUNsLAUGHTER92
    Offline

    NUNsLAUGHTER92 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
Search tags for this page
ater upgrade s4 cannot root
,

droid x wont root