DROID X with FroYo 2.2 will be rootable

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by bigd73, Aug 19, 2010.

1. bigd73

bigd73 New Member

GREAT NEWS!!!!
    Birdman tweeted that FroYo will be rootable with the exploid method with just a few tweaks added. dancedroid
  2. rydeordie

rydeordie New Member

Is 2.2 rootable yet?
  3. umx

umx New Member

my 2.2 is rooted
  4. hacku

hacku New Member

Currently you have to be rooted with 2.1 before upgrading to 2.2 to keep root.
  5. droidborg

droidborg New Member

So you are saying that if you wait until your phone updates to 2.2 it then can not be rooted?

Will it update automatically to 2.2 if it is rooted or do you have to update manually at that point?

I'm new to all this and haven't tried to root my phone yet but may want to in the future as I learn more about the advantages of doing so.

I'm still at 2.1.
  6. 6thgear

6thgear New Member

i had 2.2 then downgraded back to 2.1, reason being i lost my root even when i moved superuser to xbin. wow that was a mission, damn near took all day! but im back to 2.1 rooted. cant wait for a rooted 2.2 image! this would make things so much easier
  7. Noflex

Noflex New Member

Did you move superuser or su? make sure its su from sbin to xbin.
  8. rcjames

rcjames New Member

How did you down graded? I wanna go back to 2.1 and just wait until 2.2 is ready from verizon or motorola.
  9. dfitz

dfitz New Member

I messed up my phone theming it after I installed froyo.

My method to go back to 2.1:

1. With the phone being turned off, start the phone in recovery (hold home button and power on the phone, then hit the search button once you see exclamation).

2. Wipe data/system reset and then wipe cache

3. Turn off the phone and now put it in bootloader mode (hold camera and volume down button while powering up)

4. While in bootloader mode, connect the phone to your computer by usb.