1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Droid X successfully overclocked

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by Elkay, Jul 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Alright, I managed to get my Droid X overclocked last night. Initial testing is not looking very promising.

    I wasn't able to get Quadrant to even do a full run without rebooting the phone at 1.1Ghz. Looks like Motorola has this thing clocked surprisingly close to its frequency limit on stock voltages out of the box unless I ended up with a bad sample. Keep in mind that this was with stock voltages, though, so not all hope is lost yet. I didn't get this working until about 4am so I didn't have a chance to mess with the voltages since I had work this morning.

    I'll work on it some more tonight and report back with additional findings.
  2. him
    Offline

    him New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why? The phone is blazing out of the box.
  3. Humpa
    Offline

    Humpa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas
    The Droid could be overclocked significantly, so people think overclocking is the end all and is the main reason why many newbies want root. They don't realize that it is going to give rather insignificant results on most phones, aside from when doing benchmarks.

    Now the OP is not one of these "newbies" I'm referring to, of course. I don't know him, but I'm sure he's one that likes to overclock and "tweak" his devices. I suspect he has more than one OC'd pc/laptop as well. And things like overclocking the phone is how we, as a community, learn more.
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2010
  4. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Couldn't have explained it better myself. I'm posting from an m17X-R2 Core i7 Extreme @3.6Ghz with overclocked ATI 4870 cards in CrossFireX. I'm not concerned about battery life on my laptop. :)

    That being said, it was more-so a proof of concept. This phone is plenty fast for everyday use. It's not something I'd do often, in fact the only time I'd ever see doing it so far is using the PSX emulator, which again is something I wouldn't use very often.
  5. johnomaz
    Offline

    johnomaz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,353
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Central Valley, California
    Agreed. My computer has an AMD Phenom2 X4 955BE. Stock is 2.2Ghz and I have it at 3Ghz. I use integrated graphics (ATI HD 3400 with 256 dedicated memory), but only because its more of a home theater machine. I plan on getting a video card soon though, Starcraft 2 is calling to me.
  6. Cdjones187
    Offline

    Cdjones187 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Sorry for the correction but the AMD Phenom II X4 955BE is clocked at 3.2Ghz. Mine is clocked at 4Ghz, OC'd Radeon HD4890 also =]
  7. Juicemane
    Offline

    Juicemane Bang Bang Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Keep us posted on the OC status. Also, I run an e8400 @ 4.0ghz on air.
  8. Cdjones187
    Offline

    Cdjones187 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Nice, im also on air!


    Would like to see some quadrant scores. Anyone know what it scores stock?
  9. GeekSpeak411
    Offline

    GeekSpeak411 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    psha, i7 930 at 4.28 on air :D Droid X at 1.GHz still, actually, scratch that, I've got it downclocked to 600MHz currently for battery life. Performance with Launcher Pro is still excellent, the 512RAM is the current bottleneck for me.
  10. Micrane
    Offline

    Micrane New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i7 975 @4.2 liquid, 12 gig 1600MHZ, 2x 5970Xfire @810/1110 + GTX 285 @702/1599/1299 for physx, i'm all about overclocking.
  11. Micrane
    Offline

    Micrane New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  12. GeekSpeak411
    Offline

    GeekSpeak411 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh no, I've got the CoolerMaster V8 on there, it stays nice and chilly. Peaks around 65 if I remember correctly.
  13. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    My stock Quadrant score was usually around 1240-1250. The one 1.1Ghz that I got to finish was 1277.
  14. GeekSpeak411
    Offline

    GeekSpeak411 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yuck, what are you using to OC?
  15. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    A modified kernel module and pushing values directly into the frequency/voltage tables in memory, then setCPU to use the values. Like I said, this is very preliminary testing. I didn't even have the chance to touch the voltage, which seems will be the key to either this working well for us, or showing that 1Ghzs is close to the limit that the OMAP 3630 can handle (remember that the 3630-1000 is the same chip as the 3630, just certified to run stable at 1Ghz).

    I'm optimistic that extra voltage will get us at least to 1.2Ghz stable. As far as diminishing returns goes, I can't say at this points. There are other possible limiting factors, such as the memory.
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2010
  16. GeekSpeak411
    Offline

    GeekSpeak411 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How did you bypass the security to load a custom kernel?
  17. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    I'm not using a custom kernel. I'm using the stock kernel with a kernel module loaded via root access.
  18. Cdjones187
    Offline

    Cdjones187 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa

    hmm, I guess comparing the Droid 1 and Droid X will be alot different. But at 1Ghz on my Droid im scoring between 1300 and 1500. Need to see some scores with Quadrant premium to see where the X is lacking. I know on the Droid 1 it scores higher because of the independent gfx card. Does the X have a gfx controller or is it software base? Also, the 2.2 I/O might made a big difference also.
  19. GeekSpeak411
    Offline

    GeekSpeak411 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah the x has dedicated gfx
  20. GeekSpeak411
    Offline

    GeekSpeak411 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    weird, I'm at 1272 at 1GHz
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page
android overclock parameters
,
can't overclock droid x over 1350
,
droid x overclocked
,
droid x vsel 89
,
motorola droid overclock.ko
,
motorola droid x overclock
,
omap 3630 vsel
,
omap3630 vsel
,

overclock droid x

,
overclock ko
,
overclock the droidx without a laptop
,
overclock.ko
,
overclock.ko droid x
,
undervolt.ko kernel omap 2.6.29