Droid X startup issue

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by hmaiwandi, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. hmaiwandi

    hmaiwandi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello everyone I just got my first droid (Droid X) activated about 3 hours ago and I got to play with it for about 2 hours before I recieved a call and when I answered, I heard no sound at all, so I rebooted the phone and now the screen is stuck on the Motorola logo. I can still turn the screen on and off, but the logo remains there. And apparantly the touchscreen still works cause I can blindly feel out the lock slider and feel the vibration it makes. I JUST got my Droid X today and I have no idea what to do. Oh and I also updated to 2.2.
     
  2. chkmate

    chkmate Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a similar problem man. I had a brand new Droid X sent to me Friday. I programed it, ran backup assistant and then grabbed the official 2.2 download from Verizon. It downloaded fine, restarted and unpacked all the files. I knew it was gonna take a few, but when it was done I could hear the eye in the background but was stuck on the /\/\ screen. After about ten minutes I popped the battery out and started it up. It finally went through. But now every time I restart it I have to pop the battery out or it will get stuck on /\/\. No root, no ROM, just a BRAND NEW X!

    If anyone knows what I did let me know. They are sending me a new one once again. Will probably let Verizon do it this time so there is no questions asked.
     
  3. Scuba_Shneve

    Scuba_Shneve New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same issue. I can shut down and start up my Droid X with no problems. But, if I run out of battery and need to charge it, with charger plugged in or even after a full charge, it gets stuck on the logo screen too. I have to pop the battery in and out like five times before it works. Huge pain.
     
  4. skennelly

    skennelly Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +29
    I started having the same problem on a certified phone vzw sent me. I am rooted and started having the issue after I installed the Droid Overclock app. I unistalled app today but have not powered down yet. I don't know if this will fix the issue, and am waiting to power down as it is a pain to pull the battery to get my X working properly.
     
  5. kevinkar

    kevinkar Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    While kind of a pain, after receiving the 2.2 update, I had to do a hard reset on my phone (and had to reload all my apps, restore contacts, etc.) for it to actually start working right after the update. I suggest this is probably the best course of action to fully reset the phone after an OS update such as this. Simply rebooting or pulling the battery might not be enough to get the phone to fully incorporate the update.

    That's my experience....
     
  6. erict

    erict Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seems like a 2.2 issue. Still glad I haven't done the update yet. When is this so called patch going to come out?
     
  7. Big Fate

    Big Fate Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I highly believe its the update aswell...

    Before I did the update no problems, now ever since I added it my phone gets stuck all the time... And internet every other day doesent connect.. I have to do a reset and battery pull every other day...
     
  8. skennelly

    skennelly Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +29
    For me it was the app droid overclock. I uninstalled it last night, rebooted and the send issue, rebooted twice today to check and problem solved. I can even get into recovery mode now.
     
  9. erict

    erict Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is what I just don’t understand. 2.2 has been out long enough and these issues are known on here and other sites. They keep talking about a so called patch to address these issues so we sit and wait and wait and wait. My gut feeling is we will never see this so called patch but will have to wait for the next update. Its not fare and they need to address these issues in a more timely manner. I would like some of the features that 2.2 offers but its not worth the headaches it can bring. I will sit and wait and wait and wait while I still enjoy 2.1.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  10. Big Fate

    Big Fate Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im thinking the bugs and patches are so screwed in the 2.2 that they said the hell with it and started making sure they didnt make those same mistakes in the new update. 2.2 is getting old soon so why bother when they can focus on a new update and just learn from their mistakes from 2.2.

    Speaking of which anyone know what the word on Gingerbread is? I tried asking a few customer service reps and they wouldnt leak anything lol
     
  11. Djay

    Djay Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes it is the update. We have had a lot of customers come in with that issue when they updated to 2.2, but if you take it to the verizon store they can put it to the RSD machine and load it past the moto symbol. Or you can try the hard reset on device
     
  12. Big Fate

    Big Fate Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jay can you be more descriptive on the RSD machine? I've never heard of this before. What do you mean by they can load it past the moto symbol?
     
Search tags for this page

motorola droid bionic start up issue

,

motorola droid x start up issues