Droid X shuts down, have to do a battery pull

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by skyfire322, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. skyfire322
    Offline

    skyfire322 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys! As stated in the title, my X keeps shutting down and I have to do a battery pull in order to start it back up. The weird thing is, it just started happening today. The last time I turned it back on, the SD Card icon was stuck on, saying "Preparing SD card. Checking for errors."

    Just out of curiosity, what should I do? Has anyone else experienced this problem lately as well?
  2. doniago
    Offline

    doniago Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    It would help if you told us what version of the OS you're on, if you're using any roms, whether you're rooted, etc...
  3. skyfire322
    Offline

    skyfire322 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry about that :) The system version is 2.3.340.MB810, and the Android version is 2.2.1. I'm not rooted or running roms
  4. kingsway8605
    Offline

    kingsway8605 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't you love motoblur?

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  5. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    What does motoblur have to do with it?

    OP, have you recently installed any new apps?
  6. skyfire322
    Offline

    skyfire322 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I installed two new apps about a week ago. One was Zombie Booth and the other was Quit Now. I just uninstalled them because I had to keep FC'ing them, so maybe that will do the trick.
  7. Telerding
    Offline

    Telerding New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central Cal coast
    I am having a similar problem. Started a few days after installing the GB OTA. After booting, the phone freezes within a minute or so. Only a battery pull and reboot will get things going again--for a minute or so before freezing again. I can feel the phone getting hot at the bottom, just below the battery, on the backside. I am NOT Rooted.

    I am running LauncherPro, so I tried the default launcher, but same problem.

    I recently installed SDrescan, so I uninstalled it before phone froze again. Not the problem

    Tried to look at battery usage before freezing, to see if I can identify some program that is hogging cpu, but no useful information so far.

    Any suggestions appreciated. Thanks
  8. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    I hate to say it but after I updated to GB I had reboots every few minutes. I did a factory reset and haven't had a reboot since.
  9. SupraRZ95
    Offline

    SupraRZ95 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If certain apps r causing force closing u can use titanium backup to freeze the apps.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  10. skyfire322
    Offline

    skyfire322 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Update: After uninstalling those two apps I mentioned, the phone has been rock solid.
  11. wyld
    Offline

    wyld New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can use a task manager called system panel it will give you a detailed graphics of how much power each app uses and memory usage and how much ram you have left and CPU stats!

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  12. Telerding
    Offline

    Telerding New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central Cal coast
    Did a system reset. Am currently rebuilding the software base. So far no problems, but I have a lot of apps to add yet.
  13. Telerding
    Offline

    Telerding New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central Cal coast
    I have now loaded virtually everything I had before the problem and this time around, all appears to be working well.

    Don't have exactly the same configuration of apps, but close enough.

    Thanks for the suggestions!
  14. rkurtz
    Offline

    rkurtz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    software update has messed my phone up too....help!!


    I just did the update and mine freezes the same way....i tried going to my settings and doing a factory reset but when i touch the settings icon nothing happens ....the phone usually freezes within less then a minute. sometimes screen goes black and just my status bar is visible. I'm really frustrated right now!!

    any other ideas?
  15. Telerding
    Offline

    Telerding New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central Cal coast
    There may be a way to do the reset during the boot process. Someone more learned than I in the ways of the Droid will have to answer that.

    You need to try to get into the settings as soon as you can get into your phone after booting. After a couple of tries, I was fast enough to hit the reset before the phone froze.

    This may not apply to you, but I was using launcher pro and the stock launcher when I upgraded. I had downloaded a launch switcher app (Moto Home Fix) and was using that to switch. Later, when I was rebuilding the phone I found that the switcher program was not compatible yet with GB. I suppose that could have been my problem.

    Good Luck
Search tags for this page
droid 5 shut down
,
droid won't charge keeps shutting off is it battery or phone
,
droid x 2 shuts down
,
droid x battery is full shuts down
,

droid x keeps shutting down

,
droid x2 keeps shutting down and won't restart
,
droid x2 keeps shutting off but full battery
,
droid x2 running shut down
,

droid x2 shut down

,
droid x2 shutdown fix
,
why does my droid x shut off when i have battery power
,

why does my droid x2 keep shutting off