Droid X screen issues already!!!!!

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by DroidX101, Jul 16, 2010.

  1. DroidX101
    Offline

    DroidX101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I got the droid the other night at a launch event. When I get home at 1:30am, i start messing with the phone. I noticed that the screen in not as responsive as it should be. I figured that it was the screen protector so I have taken it off, did a soft reset, and a hard reset. changed themes, and just about everthing that I can think of. I took it to verizon today, and they said that I have to go back to my old phone, and send the X in. It will take 1week-week 1/2 to order another one. Has anyone else had this problem, I would imagine with my luck, I'm the 1st. Any ideas!
  2. ewells2420
    Offline

    ewells2420 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Its mostly likely a software issue, not the phone. You would be sending it in for no reason.
  3. jray1
    Offline

    jray1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rainsville, AL
    I have had some issues with wallpapers and the phone just locked up on me earlier after using the task killer. I had to do a battery pull to get going again.
  4. sin vicious
    Offline

    sin vicious New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tamarac, Fl.
    This should be in the droid tech issues section.. I agree with ewells..
  5. DroidX101
    Offline

    DroidX101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your are probably correct, Froyo is supposed to be coming out next month. I might just deal with it till then. The other problem is it makes me miss my calls cause the slider will not open.


    ...anyway to move this to the tech section?
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2010
  6. ewells2420
    Offline

    ewells2420 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wait ...... wut?
  7. littlerick
    Offline

    littlerick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do you have any task killer, anti virus programs on your phone?
  8. soba1
    Offline

    soba1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I haven't had any of those issues
  9. DroidX101
    Offline

    DroidX101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I do have lookout and advance task killer on the phone. and what I ment about the slider not opening, was i cannot slide the slider to answer any calls.
  10. mjrupkp
    Offline

    mjrupkp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same problem. My phone also freezes when plugged in! Verizon is sending new phone. Not sure that's the answer!
  11. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Probably not. Sounds like it's more likely a problem with the charger. The original DROID is known to be flaky with chargers, it wouldn't surprise me if the X has the same problem.
  12. HeroNova
    Offline

    HeroNova New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    delete ATK and lookout and see what happens then. Just out of curiosity.
  13. BOA
    Offline

    BOA New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    It's ALWAYS a good idea to use the phone as is to get a baseline of the phone. Installing all kinds of software doesn't help when you have something new. You don't know how it's supposed to behave. For all you know it's what you installed that's causing problems and nothing to do with the phone.

    My phone is fine; I have installed basic apps but I'm using the same launcher and not using any task killers etc.

    Try going back to stock setup and see if it helps.
  14. johnomaz
    Offline

    johnomaz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,492
    Likes Received:
    269
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Central Valley, California
    My X is working great. Hopefully it isn't wide spread.
  15. CrashF16
    Offline

    CrashF16 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My screen failed the first day I had it...bottom half became unusable, and I had to get a replacement phone. It started with a slight screen jitter and then progressed to a gray screen with dark gray stripes. It would somewhat come and go based on the angle it was held, but the screen was unusable more than half of the time.
  16. Howie Dub
    Offline

    Howie Dub New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi everyone...New to Droid. Love it...when the touch screen isn't being unresponsive. It's been frustrating swiping the screen to get to an app only to open another one. I wiped it and it was better, but still would become unresponsive every once in a while. I added the Facebook app, but uninstalled it after the X started slowing down. It was still sluggish, so I installed ATK, then deleted it after looking on this forum, but it's still slugglish/unresponsive. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm on the verge of really loving this phone, but this touch screen issue is starting to get annoying. Thanks in advance.
  17. cypherx82
    Offline

    cypherx82 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Is the phone plugged in when this happens? Some users say the screen goes haywire when it's plugged in.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  18. cypherx82
    Offline

    cypherx82 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    That sound like a lemon.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  19. Howie Dub
    Offline

    Howie Dub New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's plugged in right now. I'll see how it is when it's not. Thanks for the tip.
  20. CrashF16
    Offline

    CrashF16 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep...I think so too. It's inevitable that you will have some bad units in an initial batch. It just sucks that I had to deal with it. Verizon reps were great though.