Droid X screen issues already!!!!!

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by DroidX101, Jul 16, 2010.

  1. DroidX101
    Offline

    DroidX101 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I got the droid the other night at a launch event. When I get home at 1:30am, i start messing with the phone. I noticed that the screen in not as responsive as it should be. I figured that it was the screen protector so I have taken it off, did a soft reset, and a hard reset. changed themes, and just about everthing that I can think of. I took it to verizon today, and they said that I have to go back to my old phone, and send the X in. It will take 1week-week 1/2 to order another one. Has anyone else had this problem, I would imagine with my luck, I'm the 1st. Any ideas!
     
  2. ewells2420
    Offline

    ewells2420 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its mostly likely a software issue, not the phone. You would be sending it in for no reason.
     
  3. jray1
    Offline

    jray1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Rainsville, AL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had some issues with wallpapers and the phone just locked up on me earlier after using the task killer. I had to do a battery pull to get going again.
     
  4. sin vicious
    Offline

    sin vicious Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tamarac, Fl.
    Ratings:
    +0
    This should be in the droid tech issues section.. I agree with ewells..
     
  5. DroidX101
    Offline

    DroidX101 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your are probably correct, Froyo is supposed to be coming out next month. I might just deal with it till then. The other problem is it makes me miss my calls cause the slider will not open.


    ...anyway to move this to the tech section?
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2010
  6. ewells2420
    Offline

    ewells2420 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    wait ...... wut?
     
  7. littlerick
    Offline

    littlerick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    do you have any task killer, anti virus programs on your phone?
     
  8. soba1
    Offline

    soba1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't had any of those issues
     
  9. DroidX101
    Offline

    DroidX101 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do have lookout and advance task killer on the phone. and what I ment about the slider not opening, was i cannot slide the slider to answer any calls.
     
  10. mjrupkp
    Offline

    mjrupkp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem. My phone also freezes when plugged in! Verizon is sending new phone. Not sure that's the answer!
     
  11. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    Probably not. Sounds like it's more likely a problem with the charger. The original DROID is known to be flaky with chargers, it wouldn't surprise me if the X has the same problem.
     
  12. HeroNova
    Offline

    HeroNova Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    delete ATK and lookout and see what happens then. Just out of curiosity.
     
  13. BOA
    Offline

    BOA Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's ALWAYS a good idea to use the phone as is to get a baseline of the phone. Installing all kinds of software doesn't help when you have something new. You don't know how it's supposed to behave. For all you know it's what you installed that's causing problems and nothing to do with the phone.

    My phone is fine; I have installed basic apps but I'm using the same launcher and not using any task killers etc.

    Try going back to stock setup and see if it helps.
     
  14. johnomaz
    Offline

    johnomaz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    325
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Central Valley, California
    Ratings:
    +331
    My X is working great. Hopefully it isn't wide spread.
     
  15. CrashF16
    Offline

    CrashF16 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My screen failed the first day I had it...bottom half became unusable, and I had to get a replacement phone. It started with a slight screen jitter and then progressed to a gray screen with dark gray stripes. It would somewhat come and go based on the angle it was held, but the screen was unusable more than half of the time.