Droid X running SUPER slow

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by NJsFynest, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. NJsFynest

    NJsFynest Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got greedy for power =[

    Last night I downloaded an overclock app on the marketplace names Droid X/2 Overclock by JRummy76. The app got really good reviews and lots of people found it stable. So I thought, why not try it.

    After I download it and launch it up, I set it to overclock at 1450. Ran fine for the first 5 minutes, then **** went FUBAR. lol. Everything I pressed and every function I tried was delayed by about 6-8 seconds. Extremely sluggish. So I set it back to factory speeds and uninstalled + refunded. I thought that would fix it...

    With it off of my phone, setCPU still recognizes the overclock and has it as an available speed. Powering on the phone takes about 7 minutes!!!! And sometimes it still doesn't act right after a long battery pull power up.

    And ideas or help to get my phone back to the way it was is much appreciated! Thanks!
     
  2. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    1,293
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,444
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s7 Edge
    try a factory reset, that should fix the problem.
     
  3. NJsFynest

    NJsFynest Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would I have to re-root?
     
  4. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    no rerooting
     
  5. NJsFynest

    NJsFynest Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So a factory boot does not unroot me? Interesting. I did not know that. Thats what I have you guys for. lol.

    So what exactly is lost during a factory boot?
     
  6. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    all user data and installed apps. paid apps will be under downloads in the market.

    since its froyo, the market should also start pushing all ur current apps back to you.
     
  7. NJsFynest

    NJsFynest Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay great. I will try a factory reboot. I hope it fixes it. Thanks!
     
  8. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    factory reset* lol but i think u mean the same thing..
     
  9. NJsFynest

    NJsFynest Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I didn't want to get too technical. lmao!
     
  10. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    haha no prob
     
  11. canvs2321

    canvs2321 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    to get back on task about this thread, 1.45ghz is extremely OC'd, maybe you should do some reading before expecting your phone to operate@a daily level@that frequency.

    How have lower clocked speeds worked for you? Have you tried? 1.45 is probably close to the MAX or + you'll get out of the Droid X on average.

    Try different speeds, but try them for a full days(or 2) of usage to see how it works for you!

    Anywho, goodluck and have fun!

    ps. refunding your $ doesn't uninstall the modifications. If you want i'll get you back to stock if you email me, or use the app again to put you there.

    other wise SBF to a clean image, and start again :)


    this time don't set it to boot, until you've done a thorough evaluation of the set Speeds
     
    #11 canvs2321, Oct 26, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2010
  12. NJsFynest

    NJsFynest Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    No thanks. Im not interested in overclocking. The only reason why I did it was because it was right there in front of me in the market and everyone said (on the comments) that it was very stable at 1450.

    But like I said, I don't want to overclock. 1GHz is more than enough for me as I rarely run on even that. With setcpu, I never set it past 800 and thats only until the battery reaches 80%. Its been doing great for me and my battery.
     
Search tags for this page
droid x running super slow
,

droid x super slow

,
verizon motorola droid x super slow