Droid X Restarts?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by Nydipset91, Dec 16, 2010.

  1. Nydipset91
    Offline

    Nydipset91 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Syracuse, New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    For some reason my 2 week old Droid X is restarting itself? I was using my old HTC Evo and I read online that it may the reason?
  2. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +33
    How often? No, the Evo would have nothing to do with it.

    DroidForums junkie!!
  3. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    Sounds like a software glitch. You shouldn't have to deal with this on a new phone, but I would do a factory reset. Its quick and easy to do... click your menu button then click settings, then privacy, then factory reset.

    Its about 15 minutes of wasted time but it should fix your issue.

    Good luck!
  4. timrock
    Offline

    timrock Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ive experienced this once in a while, mostly when i pulg my phone in to charge. coming from a blackberry tour, where it took about 15 minutes to reboot, 1 restart a day wont bother me.
  5. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    With as easy as a factory reset is nobody should have to put up with any problems.
  6. timrock
    Offline

    timrock Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    i wouldnt mind, but restoring all my apps takes a while. plus im rooted.
  7. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +33
    Titanium backup works wonders! I also use SMS Backup & Restore for my text messages.

    DroidForums junkie!!
  8. timrock
    Offline

    timrock Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    question: if i hard reset my phone, then root it, and then install titanium, will my phone restore to the way i have it now?
  9. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    The apparently all come back if you allow the syncing with Google. Z4root should have you rooted in a snap if you lose root. But yes it is a bit of a hassle.
  10. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +33
    You'd need to be rooted and backup before you do a hard reset.



    DroidForums junkie!!
  11. timrock
    Offline

    timrock Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i am. what next?
  12. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +33
    If you have a nandroid backup, you're golden. May have to re-root and get back into recovery to restore. Everything will be exactly as it is now...
    Thoughts MrKleen?



    DroidForums junkie!!
  13. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    Just do a factory reset from privacy under settings. Even if you were on a rom it would just load it fresh.

    Just don't forget to re bootstap if you downloaded the free version.
  14. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +33
    Wasn't sure it would be the case with z4 or not. Go for it OP!



    DroidForums junkie!!
  15. Stevessvt
    Offline

    Stevessvt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Curious, does it do when when coming back from a sleep state? Any apps frozen with Titanium backup?