Droid X Restarts?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by Nydipset91, Dec 16, 2010.

  1. Nydipset91
    Offline

    Nydipset91 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse, New York
    For some reason my 2 week old Droid X is restarting itself? I was using my old HTC Evo and I read online that it may the reason?
  2. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    How often? No, the Evo would have nothing to do with it.

    DroidForums junkie!!
  3. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like a software glitch. You shouldn't have to deal with this on a new phone, but I would do a factory reset. Its quick and easy to do... click your menu button then click settings, then privacy, then factory reset.

    Its about 15 minutes of wasted time but it should fix your issue.

    Good luck!
  4. timrock
    Offline

    timrock New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ive experienced this once in a while, mostly when i pulg my phone in to charge. coming from a blackberry tour, where it took about 15 minutes to reboot, 1 restart a day wont bother me.
  5. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    With as easy as a factory reset is nobody should have to put up with any problems.
  6. timrock
    Offline

    timrock New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    i wouldnt mind, but restoring all my apps takes a while. plus im rooted.
  7. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Titanium backup works wonders! I also use SMS Backup & Restore for my text messages.

    DroidForums junkie!!
  8. timrock
    Offline

    timrock New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    question: if i hard reset my phone, then root it, and then install titanium, will my phone restore to the way i have it now?
  9. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The apparently all come back if you allow the syncing with Google. Z4root should have you rooted in a snap if you lose root. But yes it is a bit of a hassle.
  10. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    You'd need to be rooted and backup before you do a hard reset.



    DroidForums junkie!!
  11. timrock
    Offline

    timrock New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i am. what next?
  12. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    If you have a nandroid backup, you're golden. May have to re-root and get back into recovery to restore. Everything will be exactly as it is now...
    Thoughts MrKleen?



    DroidForums junkie!!
  13. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just do a factory reset from privacy under settings. Even if you were on a rom it would just load it fresh.

    Just don't forget to re bootstap if you downloaded the free version.
  14. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Wasn't sure it would be the case with z4 or not. Go for it OP!



    DroidForums junkie!!
  15. Stevessvt
    Offline

    Stevessvt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Curious, does it do when when coming back from a sleep state? Any apps frozen with Titanium backup?
  16. timrock
    Offline

    timrock New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have droid x bootstrap and i have a couple of backups as well, with both titanium and bootstrap.
    it boots up as normal. the apps that i froze, are still frozen.
  17. Stevessvt
    Offline

    Stevessvt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine would reboot but only after I froze some apps with Titanium back up. Maybe a link.....
  18. Stevessvt
    Offline

    Stevessvt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After unlocking the screen, not at boot up. And it would be random,.....unlock then spontaneous reboot. Maybe once or twice a day.
  19. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    I posted this on another forum, but it may apply to your rebooting problem, you might want to test if it's your sd card before doing the Factory Data Reset:

    A bad file/filesystem on your sd card can also cause a boatload of problems on a device, certainly everything the OP has described.

    If you have a spare sd card, put it in your phone and the problems should go away if something on your original card was not right. If you don't have a spare, take the sd card out of the phone and test it without the memory card.

    If it is the card causing the problems, transfer the contents of your card to your PC and reformat the card in the phone. Then move only essential files and folders back to the card and test for a while. Repeat in small batches until you have found the bad file or all of the files/folders that you want are back on the card. If you don't find a bad file, don't worry, it was probably something wrong with the filesystem (FAT, File Allocation Table) that was causing your device's problems, the formatting of the card would fix that.
  20. timrock
    Offline

    timrock New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you might be right. i just recently instered a 32gb card, but i didnt format it (silly me). I was also having issues with Gallery opening up. it would open and then immediately close. So i popped in my old card, it works fine now. Thanks for the tip. I will format the 32gb when i get home. appreciate it.