Droid X Overclocked on 2.2

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by Abe21599, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    Originally posted by FreeWILL over at DXF - i did not come up with this just reposting it for more users to see/use

    Milestone Overclock Module 1.2t (nadlabak's patch) w/ Memory Locations for DroidX 2.2 Added by FreeWELL

    Credits:
    Tiago Sousa aka Mirage: for The Milestone Overclock Project
    nadlabak: for patching in Froyo/2.2 Support
    FreeWELL: for finding DroidX 2.2 memory locations/module compilation

    Notes:

    I'm trying to keep this as close as possible to the way it was done on 2.1. For me, 2.2 seems to need a little more voltage to be stable than it was under 2.1. I've included two versions of setscaling.sh to start from.

    setscaling.sh is set to stock voltages/clock speed

    setscaling100.sh is set to stock voltages w/100mhz bump accross the board to 400/700/900/1100 (This appears to be stable for me, and is the baseline for my testing/tuning)



    Install Instructions

    adb/terminal:
    $ su
    # cd /sdcard/extracted/droidx_22_oc (or wherever you extracted the files to)
    # mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mcblk1p21 /system
    # cp overclock.ko /system/lib/modules/overclock.ko
    # cp setscaling.sh /system/xbin/setscaling.sh
    # chmod 644 /system/lib/modules/overclock.ko
    # chmod 755 /system/xbin/setscaling.sh

    <optional(only do after thoroughly testing what works for your DroidX in setscaling.sh)>
    # cp install-recovery.sh /system/etc/install-recovery.sh
    # chmod 755 /system/etc/install-recovery.sh
    </optional>

    # mount -o ro,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mcblk1p21 /system


    Run Instructions

    adb/terminal:

    $ su
    # insmod /system/lib/modules/overclock.ko
    # setscaling.sh
     
  2. RK KINGKONG

    RK KINGKONG Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    JERSEY,PATERSON
    Ratings:
    +1
    whats up ABE so you actually did this to your DX and alls well ?
    I hope so . man Im driving myself crazy reading all this , lots of time I be on GOOGLE trying to figure out what half of this means lol but good learning .,peace hope all is well
     
  3. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    yea i did do it to mine. just messing around with some of the voltages n all right now.
     
  4. akappy332

    akappy332 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This def works. I'm running 1.3ghz right now at 64 vsel for the max speed. It seems to be pretty stable. I have had a few reboots tho... Android forums has a pretty big thread on this right now and you should check it out if your curious. I'm personally loving it. Though a heade of warning, if you have a launch day DX you may have trouble getting above 1.1ghz outta it. I had a launchday but just replaced it because it was having headphopne issues. My new DX is running the 1.3ghz.
     
  5. Yakuzagang5

    Yakuzagang5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    not trying to rain on the parade, but this shows its not stable lol try 1.2 maybe
     
  6. akappy332

    akappy332 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea... ok ok, but im not complaining. It has only rebooted if i've started running alot programs w/ the intention of overwhelming the phone. Stress tests have been fine through setcpu. But I would def start at 1.1 and work my way up. Every one is different after all.
     
  7. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    What's wrong with the initial batch of DX's?

    Sent from my DROIDX
     
  8. akappy332

    akappy332 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Couldn't tell you, possibly different versions of the same hardware? I'm not saying your launchday DX wont overclock as high, but that seems to be the situation from reading through the forum on android forums. All i can say is try it and see what happens. If you're already rooted the whole process is pretty easy. Just DO NOT run the optional code until you know your speeds are stable. I was running well at 1.3 and ran the optional code so that it would be permanent, but then I changed the setscaling to 1.4 ghz and I ended up having to sbf. As long as you dont run the optional code your phone will boot up w/ the stock speeds. This way even if your phone can't handle the speeds you put in your setscaling file, a simple reboot will fix your problems and then you can just try another setting.
     
  9. mirage

    mirage New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Milestone Overclock 1.4.3.1

    Version 1.4.3.1 is now in the market. It is based on the fix by nadlabak/kabaldan but done "correctly" now that we have the kernel source.

    Note also that this fix should correct the vsel problem that many had in android 2.1. The previous module/app simply wasn't setting vsel at all, as many of you suspected. Let's hope this version takes care of it, for anyone that didn't upgrade to 2.2.

    If you're interested, you can check out the issue which led to this release in the project site:
    Issue 36 - milestone-overclock - Modify Source to Support Droid X. - Project Hosting on Google Code
    (many thanks to tekahuna)
     
    #9 mirage, Oct 22, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2010
  10. umx

    umx Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    how do u edit, to change the v and mhz, currently i had it set to 1300 at 80v, and it auto changed to 1225 at 65v
     
  11. zodder

    zodder Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I purchased a DX day one and could never get it past 1.1ghz. Last week it crapped the bed and I received a replacement/refurb for it. The new phone now runs 1.35ghz LV 24/7 as stable as can be. Maybe the first batch of cpus were right up against 1.0ghz at manufacture?
     
  12. cpjr

    cpjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a release X, ordered online day it was available and received 3 days later.

    I can run medium or even low voltage @ 1.45ghz all day long stable :)