Droid X not autocorrecting in text or email.

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by Humble, Aug 13, 2010.

  1. Humble
    Offline

    Humble New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys, just bought my wife the X, and she loves it, but she is annoyed that her text and words arent being autocorrected when needed. She has it selected.
  2. gatewayad
    Offline

    gatewayad New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    if its like most the other android phones you can go in to settings, language and keyboards, keyboard settings and adjust your settings from there. Like turn on suggestions, auto correct and so on
  3. Humble
    Offline

    Humble New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for your response, she said she tried to do this, she is no at the verizon store since I am at work, I will see if they help her.
  4. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    The keyboards that came with the X didn't work for me either. The stock one is especially bad/ugly/huge.

    I suggest you buy Better Keyboard and Smart Keyboard Pro. Use them for 24 hours and return them if you don't like them. I ended up keeping both because they're pretty cheap and I look forward to updates to both. Right now Better Keyboard was a bit better...it knew that "id" should be "I'd" and it has an option to not hassle you with choices after voice-to-text.
  5. Scubamike
    Offline

    Scubamike New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    TouchPal anyone?

    I've used TouchPaul for years on WinMo phones. It is, without a doubt, the best soft keyboard I've ever used. The auto-correct works very well and it has an optional phone pad keyboard, which I use the most. It is available for Android and would have been a deal breaker if it wasn't. My DX is (hopefully) enroute from Verizon. I'll post a YouTube vid of TouchPal on it when it arrives.

    Has anyone else given it a shot on the DX?
  6. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    TouchPal...sounds dirty.

    I just checked it out in the market. I don't read Chinese so I'm wary of the app. Also, I don't like the idea of keyboards that ask for access to the internet. No way I want a keyboard to do that.
  7. Scubamike
    Offline

    Scubamike New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Dirty? That is a very unique response. I couldn't find any Chinese writing on their website, Welcome to CooTek - TouchPal, an innovative soft keyboard , but is Chinese writing a warning sign? Is it just Asians in general that concern you?

    It doesn't interact with the internet on my I910 Omnia, but if it does on Android I'll use it anyway. It is that good. I'd advise you conquer your Asian phobia and test it out. You'll thank me and the Chinese, or... whoever.
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2010
  8. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    TouchPal...yeah...sounds dirty.

    Anyway, I'm not afraid of Chinese people as you have inferred. As I explained, I DON'T READ CHINESE. The app description that I saw in the market is in Chinese. Furthermore, the app asks for permission to use the internet. I don't want a keyboard that asks for that permission. I'll be happy to explain myself further if you need it, so just let me know.
  9. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    301
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    I am all for Smart Keyboard Pro - I can't say that I have tried Better Keyboard but I do like the HTC_IME keyboard as well...
  10. cypherx82
    Offline

    cypherx82 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I don't know about you but I think Swype is awesome.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  11. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    Yeah, but there was some problem with it. Does it capitalize the letter "I" by itself? I couldn't get some autocorrect stuff to work how I wanted...very small, but annoying issues. Maybe is was a contraction, like id not going to I'd or dont not going to don't. I forget.
  12. cypherx82
    Offline

    cypherx82 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    It auto-corrects I and I'd for me. It just did as I was writing this.

    Remember you can teach it words. I had to teach it sync and my username, cypherx82, for example.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  13. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    Do you have Swype's "Word Prediction" turned on? I can't stand that feature and have it off. I just want basic autocorrection, not prediction. Am I missing a setting?
  14. Scubamike
    Offline

    Scubamike New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    No biggie...


    You said the Chinese writing made you "wary". It struck me as funny. "Wary". In my heart of hearts, I don't believe Asians give you any concerns at all so don't take it too seriously.

    On the topic of TouchPal, is the product in the market different than the one on the link I posted? Maybe a better question is: Can I view the market place apps on my computer rather than on an Android phone? My DX is in the mail or in Verizon's warehouse or Motorola's factory or... ?? I would like to check out the version of TouchPal you mentioned and other apps.

    The product from Cootek that I've used for WinMo should provide (fingers crossed) the same error correction and typing efficiency that the starter of this thread is searching for. I wouldn't be so quick to dismiss it. The developer claims 450 chars/min. and my experience bears this out.
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2010
  15. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    Yeah, I was just wary because I couldn't read the description. Coulda been in some other language I don't know and I would still be wary. I am sensitive to accusations or hints that I'm a racist.

    Back on topic, yes your link and the one in the market are from the same company. Use appbrain to view apps online.

    TouchPal might be great. Some of the reviews for it in the market are very very positive.
  16. Scubamike
    Offline

    Scubamike New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Sorry, thank you, see what you mean...

    I should have been more careful. Sorry.

    Thank you for the tip on Appbrain. That is perfect. I can check out the apps while waiting on Verizon to ship my phone.

    The whole Chinese writing thing is weird. I see what you mean. Their website is entirely in English. It does give someone reason to raise an eyebrow. I'll be the guinea pig to install this app when my phone arrives. If the coast is clear I'll whistle three times.
  17. cypherx82
    Offline

    cypherx82 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I have word prediction off.

    What helps accuracy is scribbling in double letters.

    You should read the tips they're quite helpful.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  18. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    Thank you, I will give Swype another try.
  19. Scubamike
    Offline

    Scubamike New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Why does it connect to the internet...

    @Aminaked

    I did some googling on why TouchPal wants to connect to the internet. You had me a little concerned as well. As many times as I type in usernames and passwords I can see reason for apprehension. I am not sure if this will put all your concerns to rest or mine for that matter, but here is their explanation...

    CooTek-TouchPal Forum: ive got a question about ver 4.5.1

    Again, this a very impressive text entry system. I'm still going to give it a go when (if?) my DX arrives despite this reason to be a bit wary.
  20. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    They say they want to update the dictionary. Why not just offer the update through the market like all other apps? And what's going on that they need to update the dictionary? Are new words being invented?

    I'm being rather cynical here, but these are honest questions. And I don't expect you to answer them. You've been very nice and I don't want you to think that I'm trying to disrespect you. Maybe I'm just paranoid, but I'm also a software developer and their approach makes no sense to me--especially when other keyboard programs don't require access to the internet.

    Anyhow, I still haven't gotten around to figure out Swype so Better Keyboard is the one for me right now.
Search tags for this page

autocorrect not working on android

,

droid x2 keyboard not auto correcting

,

keyboard app droid with contraction auto correct

,

when texting auto correct not workiing droid