Droid X Keeps booting into Clockwork Recovery witha few other questions

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by nerdstaz, Aug 25, 2010.

  1. nerdstaz
    Offline

    nerdstaz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I installed Froyo on my root using the following method:

    Easy way to Froyo if you rooted and themed, and bootstrapped or if you just rooted. It's easy. - Droid X Rooting - AllDroid Public Board - Easy way to Froyo if you rooted and themed, and bootstrapped or if you just rooted. It's easy. - Droid X Rootin

    After I was done, I had some weird things going on. So I did a data wipe and it seemed to clear ALMOST everything up. Now when I power down it sends me into clockwork recovery each time. Any ideas? Edit: And when I go to recovery I can just click reboot and it boots up, not a HUGE deal just annoying.

    EDIT: This problem occurred because I didn't reinstall the bootloader app by koush. Now I can use quick boot and it reboots properly. Hope this helps someone!

    Also, is there a market workaround for signed apps that aren't showing up that I can install as a .zip or is that not available yet?

    And last but not least, I see people renaming bloatware and all of that jazz, but what would be the method to just MOVE it to another directory, so if I need it I can just move it back. Renaming those files could be a PITA.

    Thanks!
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2010
  2. YukonCornelius
    Offline

    YukonCornelius New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
  3. nerdstaz
    Offline

    nerdstaz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio

    answers in quote
  5. nerdstaz
    Offline

    nerdstaz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay, so the rebooting into clockwork every time is perfectly normal?

    BTW Thanks for your help ABE and Yukon. (EDIT)
  6. YukonCornelius
    Offline

    YukonCornelius New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown

    This way is as simple as it gets... if you have and/or use ADB. Download the prop.build file and place it in the ADB direcotry (Usually "Tools") Put the phone in debug mode, plug it in to your PC via USB and choose Windows Media Sync (I have not been able to get PC mode to work since 2.2) and run "ADB USB" to start the ADB engine looking for a device on your USB ports. Run "ADB Devices" to verify it sees your phone... may take abbout 30 seconds sometimes...)

    If it sees your device, just run "ADB Shell" and type the following:

    adb remount

    adb push build.prop /system/build.prop

    reboot

    That's it. Everything should show up in market after that.
  7. YukonCornelius
    Offline

    YukonCornelius New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    I don't think it's normal every time... but mine does every time I enter then leave the Moto recovery screen (holding Home while powering on...)

    When I choose reboot from there, it does go into Clockwork Recovery - but not during a normal reboot.
  8. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    its normal every OTHER time. and home+power is recovery
  9. nerdstaz
    Offline

    nerdstaz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea basically every time I power down, it boots into clockwork recovery, then I select 'reboot' and it boots up fine. If I power down again, it goes back to clockwork recovery and rinse repeat....So I hope that's what you are referring to Abe =)
  10. YukonCornelius
    Offline

    YukonCornelius New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    I'm thinking you have something funny going on. It should be a normal boot (with no Clockwork) unless you choose the Recovery mode (holding the home button on power up...)

    After leaving the standard recovery, it will go to Clockwork recovery, but it shouldn't from a normal boot. At least that's how it is with everyone else I know running it...
  11. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    ok heres how i see it. if you power down, it will go into CW. if you battery pull when starting up, it will go into CW

    if you reboot (download quickboot) it shouldn't go into recovery.

    but i mean is it that much of a problem? its one button press to get it to reboot again guys lol i mean come on
  12. YukonCornelius
    Offline

    YukonCornelius New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    Agreed... but it's one of those nuisances that would drive someone anal like me nuts! So I see his point...
    :i-m_so_happy:
  13. nerdstaz
    Offline

    nerdstaz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea it works fine with quick boot, I didn't have to use that on the Droid1, so I didn't know of its existence. That's fine by me. Thanks for your help broduders.
  14. nerdstaz
    Offline

    nerdstaz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ha, Okay..the first time with quick boot it was fine. But now its back to having to go through recovery every time. Like I said, its not the end all be all, I just would like more ideas to maybe fix it.

    SHOOT ME

    haha
  15. nerdstaz
    Offline

    nerdstaz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ha, I am an idiot. I see now. The problem the whole time was, when I restored I forgot to reinstall the bootloader app. Fixed and working properly now.

    Oh well, maybe this will help someone else. Gonna Edit my OP.
  16. YukonCornelius
    Offline

    YukonCornelius New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    Glad you got it figured out! :happy:
  17. Racingglock35
    Offline

    Racingglock35 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Found this thread in Google. I am having the same problem. Every time I shut down and start the DX back up, it boots into CW. The only way for me to rid this was SBF. I now refuse to custom MOD until i can figure out how to stop this.
  18. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Clockwork mod hijacks the stock recovery boot process. Its doing its job. If pushing one button is an issue, then after a manual reboot open the bootstrap app, select bootstrap recovery, then ok and next you manually boot it will boot w/o going to CWM.
  19. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
Search tags for this page

clockwork recovery starts when power cable plugged in