Droid X how to's

mcs31872

Reaction score
I am new to droid x just got it about 4 days ago. I have installed the launcher pro.. don't know if I really needed it and if I don't want it what do I do? I am trying to do whatever I can to preserve battery life.. I have everything off that I don't need at the time.. bluetooth..wifi etc. I keep stopping applications but they seem to find there way back on.. what can I do about that? I have downloaded a couple of ringtones but don't know how to set them as a ringtone.. they just play in my playlist and are in my download folder not my ringtone folder and I don't know how to put them there. Anything I should install as far as apps.? Someone give me the run down on how to work this phone . Thanks.

Abe21599

Super Moderator
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
in my sig theres a link for new DX users to get started..

Launcher Pro is a home replacement so its gonna have a whole different look

dont worry about apps running in teh background - theres a link in my guide to explain that

use ringdroid to help set ringtones

OP
M

mcs31872

Reaction score
where do I get ringdroid.. ? If I find that I don't like Launcher pro can I go back to the default home page? If I don't want apps running in the background.. is there a way to keep them from starting back up after I have stopped them already? I get tired of going and hitting stop all during the day.

Abe21599

Super Moderator
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
ringdroid is on the market

just uninstall launcher pro if you want to and it will go away

again, reading androidology in that link or link 7 in my sig - let them run in the background - its better than trying to keep stopping them

OP
M

mcs31872

Reaction score
Not sure I understand the androidology thing. Any tips or tricks that you would like to share.. What are some good/cool apps. that I should know about? I got the ringdroid.. it worked for what I wanted.. thanks.

lterry913

Reaction score