Droid X has been rooted

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by ViciousCircle, Jul 22, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    maybe a mod could change the title of that "stop asking" post, since every single time it's posted, the disclaimer has to be added?

    though i'm guessing if that could've been done it would've been already, so maybe there's a timeframe on changing posts or something and my comment here is completely worthless :)
  2. goldsquare
    Offline

    goldsquare Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. Legacy23
    Offline

    Legacy23 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Jerz
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^^^ Yessur!
  4. goldsquare
    Offline

    goldsquare Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok is there a step by step guide on how to root my X.will a ps3 hook up to the phone. yes I'm new but I want the hotspot. I got someone to do my omnia I had and loved it.
  5. kwiksilvr
    Offline

    kwiksilvr Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got the the phone installed and setup in the device manager under pc mode...

    I am at step 5 and dont understand how to Run "adb devices" in the command prompt... I do this and it tells me that the adb is not recognized as an internal or external command

    what do I do from here...

    i am not a computer novice, but they should write these instructions a litlte more clearly...
  6. Legacy23
    Offline

    Legacy23 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Jerz
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've never tried to hook up my ps3 but i don't see why it wouldn't work....it would use a ****load of data tho and you may get caught by vzw so be careful with that.
  7. mcsinfl
    Offline

    mcsinfl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    this may help:
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hacking-help/30464-how-adb-why-i-love-adb-commands-3-a.html
  8. Legacy23
    Offline

    Legacy23 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Jerz
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where'd you put the SDK folder?
  9. motorhaith
    Offline

    motorhaith Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Augusta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, so i got my droid x rooted, but im trying delete some stuff off the phone, for example 3g mobile hotspot, blockbuster, amazon, city id. can anyone help me with the commands? im using adb shell off of a pc...

    PS. Never mind, looked at some of the posts above me and ive found the answer! thanks!

    How would I get rid of the 3g mobile hotspot?
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2010
  10. kwiksilvr
    Offline

    kwiksilvr Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    The only folder I have is the droidxroot_v2 folder... it does not say anything about the sdk folder in the instructions... and its in the C:\droidxroot_v2
  11. Preach2k
    Online

    Preach2k DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,888
    Likes Received:
    269
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hometown Brooklyn, NY Now Fuquay Varina, NC
    Ratings:
    +275
    Video of The Rooted Droid X
  12. montyboy
    Offline

    montyboy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    /home/ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    And neither is your problem. What operating system? Do you have the SDK installed? Is the SDK in your PATH?

    Answering those will help to answer your initial question.
  13. kwiksilvr
    Offline

    kwiksilvr Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    Windows 7 64
    yes I have SDK installed and its in the path..

    I got this part to work, but when I try to push the superuse apk to the sdcard, i get an acccess denied issue..

    does this have to be in pc mode or can you do it in usb mass starage mode too?

    When in pc mode I get no devices listed, in mass storage mode I get the device listed...
  14. montyboy
    Offline

    montyboy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    /home/ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you have "USB Debugging" on the device enabled?
  15. kwiksilvr
    Offline

    kwiksilvr Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I do...
Search tags for this page

xkoym.lt