Droid X FroYo Loss of Root

Discussion in 'Droid X Rooted Help' started by darthrogue, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. darthrogue
    Offline

    darthrogue New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used EasyRoot to Root my droid X back when I was running 2.1, and after I upgraded to 2.2, I lost root. The superuser icon is still there, and both Universal Androot and EasyRoot both say that I have root, but yet none of my root apps have root access. Anybody got ideas?
  2. fwaggle
    Offline

    fwaggle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You didn't backup su to /system/xbin/su so it'd keep it's suid privileges. As far as I know the only way to get root at the moment is to SBF back to 2.1, re-root, and repeat the process.

    I could be wrong on that though. :(
  3. darthrogue
    Offline

    darthrogue New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I hope for my sake that you are wrong... Good thing I made a titanium backup before I upgraded... Also, anybody want to make me some basic instructions on how to restore? I've only gone forward before... I know how to use RDS Lite, as I've used it to flash SPRecovery to my Droid 1 before, just want someone to tell me exactly what I have to do and what I have to download. Thanks in advance...
  4. Sydman
    Online

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,463
    Likes Received:
    238
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    If you follow the instruction from the link on the main page you can get the new updated even with rooting and have your root after. Worked great on mine. (So Far)
  5. darthrogue
    Offline

    darthrogue New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I already have 2.2... I just don't have root and will have to flash back to 2.1 and root, and go to 2.2...

    Anybody want to give me some RDS Lite instructions?
  6. DROID VADAR
    Offline

    DROID VADAR New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    fix your root

    To anyone that has run into this problem I have a solution. This is for everyone that missed the step on keeping your root access. If you have su in xbin and still won't work this will work for you.

    (Open terminal emulator) type the following:
    /system/xbin/su
    Then you should see a #
    Run "mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/system /system"
    Run "mv /system/bin/su /system/bin/su.bak"
    Run "cd /system/xbin/"
    Run "cp su ../bin/"

    Then you should have your root access again!dancedroid
    and one more thing, don't type the word run or put the " " in this code
  7. darthrogue
    Offline

    darthrogue New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks... I already managed to get myself 2.2 and some root, though it took me a while...

    I used birdman's method after running an SBF on my phone

    I then used these commands in the ADB shell
    "mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/system /system"
    "mv /system/bin/su /system/xbin/su"

    I then installed the 2.2 update, and I still have root

    Make sure you restore your apps BEFORE updating... As this is a leaked release, you don't have access to the full app market...

    This post will be placed in a new thread to assist people who want to keep their root while updating... links will be placed for birdman's instructions
  8. nathank
    Offline

    nathank New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I tried that first part
    But I get this error: /system/xbin/su: not found
  9. jjordo1
    Offline

    jjordo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried to paste the su in xbin using root explore and it would not let me put it in there before I did the update. Now i do not have root acces either and getting the same /system/xbin/su: not found message I guess its because its not there is there a way to get it there after I already updated and then use the emulator code??
  10. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I'm just guessing but since Terminal Emulator says su not found, you still are not rooted. Moved to Rescue Squad Rooted section for further assistance.
  11. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,785
    Likes Received:
    1,215
    Trophy Points:
    113
    found this guide, see if it will help

    You can use root explorer instead for this step: you just need to move su to /xbin from /bin.
    FROM A ROOTED PHONE:

    1. Run "adb shell"

    2. Run "mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/system /system"

    3. Run "mv /system/bin/su /system/xbin/su"

    4. Copy p3droid's update.zip to your sdcard

    5. Reboot into recovery (power down - hold volume down and home button and press the power button)

    6. Run update.zip
  12. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,785
    Likes Received:
    1,215
    Trophy Points:
    113
  13. jjordo1
    Offline

    jjordo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just a dumb question easyroot says its compatibe do you think it would work?
  14. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,785
    Likes Received:
    1,215
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I can not honestly tell you it would or would not. You can try it.
  15. jjordo1
    Offline

    jjordo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I did the easy root it says im rooted but i cannot run any programs that require root acces any ideas would be greatly apreciated I don"t really need root right now but the fact that i might not be able to have it doesnt sit to well with me alos did I need to delete anything before trying that method again everything from previously being rooted was still on it
  16. darthrogue
    Offline

    darthrogue New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i don't have a version of EasyRoot that is compatable with android 2.2... I bought it on the market before google took it off... I can tell you that universal androot does not work with the 2.2 update on the droid x... now have root and the 2.2 update... but I had to flash back to 2.1, restore my apps from a titanium backup, copy the su to the xbin folder instead of just the normal bin folder... I then was able to run the update and keep my root... Hope this helps someone...
  17. nathank
    Offline

    nathank New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well heres the crazy thing. Today I woke up and got a notification that my Titanium Backup app finished completing a backup. However, when I went into the program it said it does not have root access. Now the busybox updater app says I'm rooted, but it cannot install the new busybox... wtf. Why cant they just let us do what we want with an open-source OS? Seems oxymoronic to me... granted not everyone needs that kind of permissions or access, so they should have a buried menu option, rather than locking it down...
  18. nathank
    Offline

    nathank New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also I didn't know that there were two versions of the update.zip
    I wonder if it is possible if I'm at 2.2 now, and then try to use the rooted zip to upgrade if it would restore root. Problem now is, its hard to find the rooted zip folder since motos cease and desist orders.