Droid X charging

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by dswartze, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. dswartze
    Offline

    dswartze New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    After reading tj1772's quote in another thread:

    things began to make sense. I have been wondering my DX was taking so long to charge, etc. At work I connect it to my laptop's USB port to keep it charged up while I listen to music, check email, use the hotspot, etc. But it doesn't charge all that fast. My laptop's USB port must not put out enough amperage. I just plugged the DX's usb cable into my old TP2's AC adapter (which puts out 1A) and my phone went from 80% to 100% is no time flat (~7 minutes).

    So the question is -- how many amps are needed to run the DX with various apps running. In the car on road trips, I can see myself using Navigator, playing music and using the hotspot (for the kid's iPod Touches). This last weekend I took a 2 hour road trip and only used the Navigator. I started with a fully charged battery and at the end of 2 hours I was at 60%! I was using one of those Scosche Dual USB car chargers. It is supposed to put out 1A and I only had the DX plugged into it. So is 1A not enough?
  2. fishstick600
    Offline

    fishstick600 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Loveland
    I think something like 3k ma output

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  3. fishstick600
    Offline

    fishstick600 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Loveland
    Correction mvs

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  4. dswartze
    Offline

    dswartze New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    So 3k mA = 3000 / 1000A = 3A?

    The problem I am finding is that online stores that are selling chargers do not list the mA. They some times list the voltage.
  5. lfotto
    Offline

    lfotto New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dancedroidBoth the charger I got with my multimedia dock and the supplied charger put out 5v 850ma and using a usb adapter in my car I have not had a problem keeping the phone charged, navigating, and playing music using the car dock.
  6. dswartze
    Offline

    dswartze New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Stopped by Verizon on the way home looking for a charger. All they had were generic underpowered car chargers. And they were clueless about the topic.

    So I went across the street to Best Buy and I looked for a more powerful charger. I found a 2A Insense iPad car charger. It has a single USB slot. I immediately used it in the car on the 15 minute ride home. I had my bt headset connected, Navigation/gps running, and playing music. A little more than halfway home that it charged my DX from 80% to 100%.

    I think I have found my solution.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  7. donballz
    Offline

    donballz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does it have one of those stupid curly wires?
  8. dswartze
    Offline

    dswartze New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    No. I came with an Apple iPhone/iPod/iPad cable - which I gave to my son.

    And it was the Incase 2A iPhone/iPod/iPad car charger. Here it is on the Apple website for $24.95 -- which it cheaper than what I paid at Best Buy.
  9. lterry913
    Offline

    lterry913 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I am confused ...nether end looks like it would be compatible with droid x ...please explain the hookup
  10. dswartze
    Offline

    dswartze New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    The Incase iPhone/iPod/iPad charger has two pieces -- the charger and the iPhone/iPod/iPad cable.

    I am only using the charger part, which plugs into your car's cigarette lighter and gives you a single USB jack. I am using the USB cable that came with my DX to go from the charger to my DX's car dock.

    I have a couple extra USB cables on order so I do not have to keep plugging and unplugging cables.
  11. donballz
    Offline

    donballz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  12. dswartze
    Offline

    dswartze New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Nice find ... but please note that it is a 1A charger. The Incase charger I am speaking about is rated for 2A.

    Now, for the DX, 1A maybe plenty. I know the Moto charger that comes with the car dock (if you purchase the OEM version) is rated at 950mA.

    BestBuy also had a Griffin Jolt charger that gives you 2x 1A USB slots. It was $25.

    I guess I am somewhat future proofed! For the next couple years at least!
Search tags for this page

droid x charge

,

droid x charge amps

,

how many amps are required to charge droid

,

how many amps are required to charge motorola phone

,

how many miliamps to charge note 2