DROID won't work if you have Alltel plan??

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by crspang, Dec 21, 2009.

  1. crspang

    crspang Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you live in Fl?
    If so and you're referring to the GPS issues then go back and read what actually solved that. It had nothing to do with being former Alltel.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/tech-issues-bug-reports-suggestions/777-apparent-gps-failure-48.html

    see post 478
    read that entire thread and you will see that VZW made people jump through unnecessary hoops to fix a problem that was a simple programming error.
     
  2. crspang

    crspang Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +0
    My plan did go up by $2.00 because the insurance is higher but that is all it went up. I am looking at my plan on VZW's website right now and the only change is the insurance.
     
  3. saywhat2365

    saywhat2365 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    my plan did that too the only thing that went up was the insurance still have my altell plan and altell data plan with my droid.
     
  4. verakkr

    verakkr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    First off, being a Verizon CSR, I know first hand that there are a lot of employees who are the brightest bulbs in the box. It really just depends on the store, and the management. But I'm not even going to vent about that. Secondly, being in DFW, I see a very small amount of Alltel customers to begin with, but the ones I have helped, the data package, and text messaging IS required to change to VZW pricing BUT I've noticed that Alltel has several different plans for different regions, so you just might be one of the lucky few to make it by. I would definitely check your bill when you get it though, as it seems the CSR who helped you didn't really know what was going on in the first place. But enjoy your droid! lol
     
  5. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,315
    Likes Received:
    1,677
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,820
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Don't know if this is a factor but is my observation. I live in ohio and we've got verizon corporate stores and authorized dealers, oddly enough within less than a mile of each other. At dealer CSR's were idiots, at corp store knew way more and almost all reps had smartphones. The CSR I dealt with when I got my droid was very knowledgable and was customer oriented. Took his time to show me some things as I was new to smartphones and android. At the time they were testing the bluetooth problems and was suprised I knew about it. The whole staff was really pretty good. So maybe you need to find a corporate store and see if you have better luck with the staff.
     
  6. sladekal

    sladekal New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alltel family unlimited data plan

    I have the Alltel family unlimited data plan and did not have to change anything for my Droid.
     
  7. crspang

    crspang Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +0

    I have a feeling that this particular location's management is the problem.

    Long story short is the manager and I had deal worked out to replace my son's phone then all of a sudden they were "out of stock" and couldn't even order one. The problem I have with that is, I found out later that the reason they were "out of stock" was because the manager had agreed to make a deal that was too cheap. I don't have a problem with someone making a mistake and misquoting a price but don't then lie to me with some made up crap and try to hide the fact that you screwed up. Please keep in mind that this anecdote is extremely condensed from what transpired and is by far not the only time something like this has happened to me at VZW stores.

    I know there are competent people that work at VZW stores, I just seem to get stuck with the idiots or crooks. lol


    @jstafford1...I was at a corporate store.
     
  8. KeepInitReel

    KeepInitReel Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Henrico, VA
    Ratings:
    +5
    If you would have went online to my verizon and went through the upgrade process all the way to checkout without actually checking out you would see that you have the option to keep or change your alltel plan to another alltel plan that existed during the buyout or to a verizon plan. The droid is fully functional with a alltel plan.

    You did not have to change your data plan because the system automaticlly replaced it for you (one for the other). They are both the same price $29.99, so you would not know or see the differance (same name). Go to "speedtest.com" on your droid & do a speed test, I bet your IP address has changed & no longer says "Alltel corporation", it now says CELCO PARTNERSHIP, VERIZON. If you still have a Alltel data feature it would still say "Alltel corporation".

    Also, I upgrade to the MiFi last month via online. The vzw site said my alltel unlimited data plan was compatible & I could keep it so I went all the way to checkout. Got the MiFi two days later, did the activation, used it for 30 min, then I went to check my verizon for usage. The usage no longer showed as "ALT 1X Unlimited" it now shows as "UNLIMITED MB ALLOWANCE" & I now have a verizon IP address but the plan still says it's the same when I look at the title of the plan.

    UNLIMITED MB ALLOWANCE shows for the verizon people on grandfathered unlimited verizon data plans and Alltel people who kepted there unlimited plan (which is now a grandfathered verizon plan) but are using a verizon data card.

    And you thought you were paying attention, you've been partially assimilated and didn't even know it.:icon_eek:

    Have you guys ever checked out HOWARD FORUMS? We have been past this for awhile now over in the verizon section.
     
    #20 KeepInitReel, Dec 23, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2009
  9. KeepInitReel

    KeepInitReel Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Henrico, VA
    Ratings:
    +5
    Not true. Alltel people have the option of keeping there current alltel plan, switching to a alltel plan that was offered during the buyout or changing to a verizon plan. I always tell alltel customers not to do any transactions in the store if they intened on keeping there alltel plan. The store reps will screw you! Use the store to play with the phones only, when done go home get online and buy threw my verizon. You will see that it will let you keep your voice plan but it will ask you to choose the $29.99 verizon data feature when picking a smartphone. No big deal, it's the same price as the alltel data and there both unlimited. As for alltel people on the smartchoice pack it will just swap the alltel data for the verizon data.

    Where have you guys been???

    Are you alltel/verizon guys aware that *611 on a alltel phone will connect you to the converted department (old alltel reps), they will help you too.
     
  10. Spectral

    Spectral Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    When upgrading to a phone like the Droid or other newer phones the phones specifically say when looking them up in the given equipment guide any rep has access to that the new phone requires that it be on a Nationwide Plan. It is no different than if someone who has an older Verizon plan like Americas Choice I or II. If you had that plan and were upgrading to the Droid you would need to change to the equivalent plan under nationwide. And not all Alltel customers get to speak with Alltel reps on the phone I have helped plenty.
     
  11. medicTHREE

    medicTHREE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    people that had their insurance rate go up got screwed. YOUR CSR did it wrong. They do not need to delete the re add it. It should stay the same. i have never paid more than 5/month 50 deductible. Never will.
     
  12. KeepInitReel

    KeepInitReel Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Henrico, VA
    Ratings:
    +5
    That's why it's better for a alltel person to do it online because of what you speak. I can go threw the motions of a upgrade online, keep the alltel voice plan and just choose the vzw $29.99 data feature, why is that?

    And it doesn't sound like you helped any alltel people if you jerked them out there plan or said that needed to switch.
     
    #24 KeepInitReel, Dec 23, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2009
Search tags for this page
activate verizon droid x2 on alltel?
,

alltel droid cell switched to net 10 will no twork

,
can a droid be switched to a alltel plan
,
can a motorola droid x be used on alltel?
,
can you activate the droid x2 with an alltel prepaid service
,
droid x wont receive texts from alltel customers
,
how do i put my alltel prepaid number on my alltel android
,
htc rezound on alltel prepaid
,
my son downloaded an app on my motorola droid and now it won
,
will an alltel data plan work on a droid device