DROID won't work if you have Alltel plan??

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by crspang, Dec 21, 2009.

  1. crspang
    Offline

    crspang New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    So, I was in a VZW store this evening with my wife and son trying get an issue resolved with my son's phone and while waiting on the manager to help us we were chatting with the CSR that had been "helping" us. I mentioned that my wife and I had ordered DROIDs and were expecting them to come in tomorrow. Since we were trying to resolve a crapped out phone issue, the CSR was familiar with our account (we're former Alltel customers and still on an Alltel plan). He looked confused at us when we mentioned the DROIDs and said that since we still have an Alltel plan the DROID won't work for us. I didn't believe he was truthful with this issue because I believe he and another manager had already LIED to my wife earlier in the day while I was at work and her and my son were trying to get his phone fixed (but that is another story).

    I have been browsing these forums for a month now (debating with myself as to whether or not I wanted to take the plunge into another two year contract) and I think I'm pretty up to date with the typical problems/issues people are having with their DROIDS. So, just to make sure, when we got home I did several searches for Alltel plan issues in these forums and wasn't able to come up anything relevant to us, ie. we don't live in Florida.

    I fully expect the DROIDs to function with our Alltel plan, so I guess my real question is;

    What level of education is required to be a VZW CSR?? Or do they troll halfway houses and hire recently paroled convicts and scam artists?? What exactly is the deal with these supposed customer service reps, I can only think of maybe once or twice that I've been satisfactorily helped when I've gone to a cell phone store in person.
  2. Benton
    Offline

    Benton New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just as is the case in any company, CSR's will vary in skill and customer "caring" but I wouldn't paint the picture with too broad of a brush. Through my years of mobile phone purchasing I have run across the full range of CSR skills ranging from poor to superior. There also seems to be a correlation or trend between poor individual CSR skills and the overall store skill set so don't be afraid to walk out of one location and drive to another store if you feel the service you are receiving at one shop is bad. My wife and I went to three stores before upgrading her Omnia to a Droid last weekend and it was well worth the effort.

    One last point, maybe the most important - if you have a choice of CSR's to work with, find one that carries/uses the device you are interested in. Nothing like getting first-hand information. If the CSR you are "assigned" personally uses a non-smartphone then they most likely are not very technical and lack knowledge about the feature set the smartphone device has, especially for the details you want to know before making a significant $$ committment.
  3. MrBaz
    Offline

    MrBaz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Let us know how the Droids work out for you.
  4. crspang
    Offline

    crspang New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    I will. I'm like a kid on Christmas eve waiting.......lol
  5. crspang
    Offline

    crspang New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    @Benton. You're right about finding the right person to talk to, I was just venting. BTW I've had better service from VZW by calling the 800#.
  6. KeepInitReel
    Offline

    KeepInitReel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Petersburg, VA
    Of course the droid will work with your alltel voice plan, all that's needed is to add the verizon data feature $29.99. The alltel data feature will not show as an option anymore. There are many alltel/vzw people using the droid.
  7. MrsDebbi
    Offline

    MrsDebbi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I has to upgrade my plan by doing a full switch to verizon to get my droid fully opperational.
  8. crspang
    Offline

    crspang New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    So I've had my DROID for a couple hours now and everything is working just fine (I knew it would) I've downloaded a few apps and synced my e-mail and tested the GPS. It all works! So far the UI experience has been easy to navigate and I'm happy. I have plans to return to the VZW store tonight to pick up my son's phone and while I'm there I'll have show it off to those VZW CSR's that said it couldn't be done. lol
  9. crspang
    Offline

    crspang New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    We already had Alltel's unlimited data plan and the DROID seems to work just fine with it. We have NOT changed our plan's features at all.
  10. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri

    You better double check that... ALL VERIZON SMARTPHONES OR ADVANCED VERIZON DEVICES REQUIRE A VERIZON DATA PLAN! Do not mean to shout, but this is VZW policy. EROS will not even allow a droid or any other smartphone to even be activated with out adding this feature.
  11. Spectral
    Offline

    Spectral New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Feel lucky that you were able to do that. The system should have automatically put you on a Verizon Nationwide plan with the data package.
  12. crspang
    Offline

    crspang New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Well, I'm posting this reply using the DROID. I'm not sure why I should feel lucky cause it only makes sense that it would work. If it didn't work you would have seen hundreds of posts complaining about it when they launched the DROID. I think the VZW CSRs get a commission to switch people to more expensive plans.
  13. crspang
    Offline

    crspang New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Do you live in Fl?
    If so and you're referring to the GPS issues then go back and read what actually solved that. It had nothing to do with being former Alltel.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/tech-issues-bug-reports-suggestions/777-apparent-gps-failure-48.html

    see post 478
    read that entire thread and you will see that VZW made people jump through unnecessary hoops to fix a problem that was a simple programming error.
  14. crspang
    Offline

    crspang New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    My plan did go up by $2.00 because the insurance is higher but that is all it went up. I am looking at my plan on VZW's website right now and the only change is the insurance.
  15. saywhat2365
    Offline

    saywhat2365 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    my plan did that too the only thing that went up was the insurance still have my altell plan and altell data plan with my droid.
  16. verakkr
    Offline

    verakkr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    First off, being a Verizon CSR, I know first hand that there are a lot of employees who are the brightest bulbs in the box. It really just depends on the store, and the management. But I'm not even going to vent about that. Secondly, being in DFW, I see a very small amount of Alltel customers to begin with, but the ones I have helped, the data package, and text messaging IS required to change to VZW pricing BUT I've noticed that Alltel has several different plans for different regions, so you just might be one of the lucky few to make it by. I would definitely check your bill when you get it though, as it seems the CSR who helped you didn't really know what was going on in the first place. But enjoy your droid! lol
  17. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,060
    Likes Received:
    128
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Don't know if this is a factor but is my observation. I live in ohio and we've got verizon corporate stores and authorized dealers, oddly enough within less than a mile of each other. At dealer CSR's were idiots, at corp store knew way more and almost all reps had smartphones. The CSR I dealt with when I got my droid was very knowledgable and was customer oriented. Took his time to show me some things as I was new to smartphones and android. At the time they were testing the bluetooth problems and was suprised I knew about it. The whole staff was really pretty good. So maybe you need to find a corporate store and see if you have better luck with the staff.
  18. sladekal
    Offline

    sladekal New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alltel family unlimited data plan

    I have the Alltel family unlimited data plan and did not have to change anything for my Droid.
  19. crspang
    Offline

    crspang New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, SC

    I have a feeling that this particular location's management is the problem.

    Long story short is the manager and I had deal worked out to replace my son's phone then all of a sudden they were "out of stock" and couldn't even order one. The problem I have with that is, I found out later that the reason they were "out of stock" was because the manager had agreed to make a deal that was too cheap. I don't have a problem with someone making a mistake and misquoting a price but don't then lie to me with some made up crap and try to hide the fact that you screwed up. Please keep in mind that this anecdote is extremely condensed from what transpired and is by far not the only time something like this has happened to me at VZW stores.

    I know there are competent people that work at VZW stores, I just seem to get stuck with the idiots or crooks. lol


    @jstafford1...I was at a corporate store.
  20. KeepInitReel
    Offline

    KeepInitReel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Petersburg, VA
    If you would have went online to my verizon and went through the upgrade process all the way to checkout without actually checking out you would see that you have the option to keep or change your alltel plan to another alltel plan that existed during the buyout or to a verizon plan. The droid is fully functional with a alltel plan.

    You did not have to change your data plan because the system automaticlly replaced it for you (one for the other). They are both the same price $29.99, so you would not know or see the differance (same name). Go to "speedtest.com" on your droid & do a speed test, I bet your IP address has changed & no longer says "Alltel corporation", it now says CELCO PARTNERSHIP, VERIZON. If you still have a Alltel data feature it would still say "Alltel corporation".

    Also, I upgrade to the MiFi last month via online. The vzw site said my alltel unlimited data plan was compatible & I could keep it so I went all the way to checkout. Got the MiFi two days later, did the activation, used it for 30 min, then I went to check my verizon for usage. The usage no longer showed as "ALT 1X Unlimited" it now shows as "UNLIMITED MB ALLOWANCE" & I now have a verizon IP address but the plan still says it's the same when I look at the title of the plan.

    UNLIMITED MB ALLOWANCE shows for the verizon people on grandfathered unlimited verizon data plans and Alltel people who kepted there unlimited plan (which is now a grandfathered verizon plan) but are using a verizon data card.

    And you thought you were paying attention, you've been partially assimilated and didn't even know it.:icon_eek:

    Have you guys ever checked out HOWARD FORUMS? We have been past this for awhile now over in the verizon section.
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2009
Search tags for this page
activate verizon droid x2 on alltel?
,

alltel droid cell switched to net 10 will no twork

,
can a droid be switched to a alltel plan
,
can a motorola droid x be used on alltel?
,
can you activate the droid x2 with an alltel prepaid service
,
droid x wont receive texts from alltel customers
,
how do i put my alltel prepaid number on my alltel android
,
htc rezound on alltel prepaid
,
my son downloaded an app on my motorola droid and now it won
,
will an alltel data plan work on a droid device