Droid wont even power up!!! Stuck in Ft Lauderdale

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by krus_2, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. krus_2

    krus_2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was in the process of switching from BB v .1 (froyo) back to the 2nd leaked froyo rom. I had gotten to the point where CW was all finished and was sitting on the CW home screen. I hit reboot now and then went back to watching tv until my droid restarted. When I checked back the screen was black. I tried hitting the power button (assuming the screen shut off) but nothing happen. Then I tried holding the power button to power it on. Lastly I did a battery pull but still it would not even power on. Please someone tell me you know what happened. I desperately need the GPS to get home...
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Was your battery fully charged? If not, put it in the charger for an hour and start over.

    Hope this helps.
    Mike
     
  3. krus_2

    krus_2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know it wasnt charged fully and after further examination I am starting to believe that the battery is the issue. You said put it in the charger; are you referring to charging the battery in the phone or is there some kind of mystery charger that I dont know about, that just charges the battery?

    I only ask because I have heard over and over again that android devices wont charge when the phone is off.
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Sorry for the confusion. I purchased a dock(charger) so that is how I recharge. If you use the USB and plug then that is the way to go.

    Mike
     
  5. krus_2

    krus_2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. I'll give it a try. Hopefully it works; otherwise I'll have to use the old fashioned way to get home and maps arent really my thing.
     
  6. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I'm sure it will work. If not post and I'll try to help you

    Mike