Droid with bad ESN

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by hemorrdroid, Jul 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hemorrdroid

    hemorrdroid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    If i buy a droid on ebay that says its locked from the carrier with a bad ESN, and swap out the motherboard and screen into my droid, will i be able to activate it on my account? Or will it look like its the locked phone to Verizon.
     
  2. Cloppy

    Cloppy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i would think the esn is stored on a chip in the motherboard somewhere. so just using the case and the screen would work i would think.
     
  3. nerdbox08

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wait, you want to put the bad esn into your shell?

    I think that wouldn't work out. I an assuming the esn is tied to the motherboard. But that's my guess.

    At least this is a bump if nothing else.
     
  4. hemorrdroid

    hemorrdroid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, would like to replace all internals i can, as i sent mine thorugh the washing machine last weekend, its working, but has a few issues. Might call verizon on this.

    I assumed the phone info is stored on the main board, but wasnt sure if that would stop me from activating it.
     
  5. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,958
    Likes Received:
    751
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +915
    Why mess with replacing a motherboard? Send the thing back to ebay or tell the seller to get his act together. Or did you buy a really cheap Droid knowing the ESN was locked (hence the cheapness)?
     
  6. hemorrdroid

    hemorrdroid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh no, i havent purchased yet, researching my options before i do. And yeah, they go cheaper that way. The current motherboard i have is working okay, but i have a constant red LED on even when powered off, gets annoying, and it of course doesnt notify me of calls/txts etc. Need the screen because this one is all messed up looking.
     
  7. hemorrdroid

    hemorrdroid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone else know anything on this subject?
     
  8. dmacleo

    dmacleo Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry but any discussion of changing ESN's are not permitted in the forum
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page
droid mini bad esn
,

fix bad esn verizon

,
how to fix a bad esn on a droid
,
how to fix a bad esn on driod charge
,
how to fix a bad esn on verizon
,
how to fix bad esn verizon
,
is esn linked to motherboard
,
motorola droid 1 verizon bad esn
,
repair droid x bad esn free
,
samsung galaxy s3 bad esn motherboard swap