Droid vehicle mount for VZNav and VCast!

Discussion in 'Android Accessories' started by Guindalf, Nov 4, 2009.

  1. Guindalf
    Offline

    Guindalf New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From VZW's website...

    VZW Vehicle mount for Droid

    I thought these apps weren't available on the Droid? Who'd want them anyway with Pandora and Google Nav?
  2. ZeRo_C0oL
    Offline

    ZeRo_C0oL New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    I don't think they are available. It's probably a mistake.
  3. Sweet Daddy
    Offline

    Sweet Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was thinking the same thing!
  4. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,630
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Well with googlenav, i wouldn't even want to use vznav if i could.
  5. ChiliSky
    Offline

    ChiliSky New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    I checked around for the vehicle mount and no one seems to have them in stock. Wanted one to use the Google Maps on my trip Friday..:blink:
  6. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Call Verizon's 800 number for sales. I did last night and my Car Dock is on it's way to me as we speak!:icon_ lala:
  7. raydog153
    Offline

    raydog153 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    You should wait, don't order online unless you know what your getting. The Car Mounts sold by Verizon don't include the rapid charger, but on Moto's site they say thier cor mount includes the rapid charger!!! What gives?
  8. Guindalf
    Offline

    Guindalf New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got my car mount this morning as part of a package that included the Body Glove case and the multimedia dock. There was no vehicle charger with it.

    However, I have a USB charger in the car and should be able to use the USB cable to top up the charge.
  9. raydog153
    Offline

    raydog153 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Are you sure that USB charger will work? I have a USB charger for my previous phone for the computer, and it doesn't fit the Droid. Seems the Droid's USB port isn't a standard mini-USB!!! I hate this, why can't they standardize anything. Has anyone got a standard mini-usb to work with the Droid?
  10. Guindalf
    Offline

    Guindalf New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm talking about a charger with a USB connection, not the mini-USB on the phone end.

    Apparently, phone manufacturers are standardizing on the mini so the Droid is the same as the Blackberry phones.
  11. raydog153
    Offline

    raydog153 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Ok, I see what your saying, but you are also saying that phone manufacturers are standardizing on the mini, so the droid is the same....how can that be true, when I have a mini-usb cable that doesn't work? Aren't all mini-usb cables the same? Wen you say mini you mean mini-usb right?
  12. gBandid0
    Offline

    gBandid0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Droid uses the mini usb. All the ones I have from my BB Storm work just fine. ;)
  13. Dark-V
    Offline

    Dark-V New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Neither the Droid nor the Storm have Mini USB. They both have Micro USB. That IS in fact, a standard.

    Mini USB is on the left, Micro is on the right.
    [​IMG]
  14. gBandid0
    Offline

    gBandid0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I stand corrected, they are in fact micro usb's. :icon_eek:
  15. Guindalf
    Offline

    Guindalf New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My bad. I got the naming wrong also.
  16. raydog153
    Offline

    raydog153 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Ahhh....that you so much for clarifing that. I should know that, guess I don't have any micro usb. While I don't have any of those cables, at least it is a stabdard cable, and love the fact the power plug takes a USB charger.
  17. gBandid0
    Offline

    gBandid0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And they do seem to be standardizing on the mini. It plugs in smoother than any I have used before, and it lights white while charging, green when done, and seems to go out after a little bit on green. :D
  18. franklinmall
    Offline

    franklinmall New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I finally figured out how to add addresses and look up businesses on the web and synchronize them to my Navigator's "Favorites". If anyone is interested here is the link: http://my.telenav.com
  19. Guindalf
    Offline

    Guindalf New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why would I want a $10/Month subscription to an alternative nav company when I have a free one built in?

    Either you're a spammer or very misinformed!