Droid unable to boot

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by garyiden, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. garyiden

    garyiden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, so I am sure I've done something stupid (not sure what) and now my phone Motorola Droid will not boot up. When I power up the phone I get two different warnings:

    1. The process com.google.process.gapps has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again"

    2. The application Setup Wizard (process.com.android setupwizard) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again.

    I have attempted a factory reset but nothing has worked. It appears as though there are some missing files, although I don't know for sure. I can do NOTHING with the phone at this point, as it goes to these two warnings. When I use the "Force Close" button, they just keeping popping back up and I can go no further. Help please???
     
  2. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    check out link 1 to get back to stock
     
  3. garyiden

    garyiden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    Thank you, but the problem is, I cannot put anything on the phone because of the error messages in my previous post. I cannot get past the errors.
     
  4. azpilot

    azpilot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Some podunk town, Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    Take to Verizon, have them re-flash it.
     
  5. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    As long as the phone gets at least to the M logo, the sbf thread Abe suggested will work, if you have a pc that is
     
  6. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    can you hold down camera and volume down while powering on? if you can get into this screen called the bootloader then you can get back to stock
     
  7. garyiden

    garyiden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0


    Sadly I think I will have to do that. Taught me a good lesson though: DO NOT SCREW WITH IT UNLESS YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING! :icon_ nono:
     
  8. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Verizon is going to do the exact same thing we are telling him to do in the sbf thread. Same exact program!
     
  9. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    lol please try what i suggested.. it will work!
     
  10. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Abe, think the OP has a D1

    It would be up on dpad while powering on for D1
     
  11. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,457
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +92
    Can you boot into recovery by powering up and holding the Power and X key at the same time ?

    If so there is a solution, also it might be helpful to know what you were doing that got you to this point...were you doing something in terminal emulator or trying to flash something

    I accidentally pushed my framework-res.apk into the system/app folder once and got similiar errors, I had to restore a back-up from recovery by holding power and x
     
  12. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Spent too much time in the X forum have you? LOL!!
     
  14. garyiden

    garyiden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    I've tried. Step 2 does not work for me. The phone immediately goes to the error messages. "Force Close" and it starts all over again.

    g




    Use RSD Lite to flash the SPRecovery sbf file onto your phone:


    Download the following file:
    http://rescue.macleod-web.net > navigate to the sbf folder and grab SPRecovery_for_ese81.sbf
    1. Connect your phone to the PC via USB and turn it off then while your phone is booting hold up on the DPAD.
    2. Run RSD Lite 4.6 as Administrator (For all you Vista and 7 folks out there. If you are using XP you may not need to run as Administrator)
    3. If your phone is not displayed in the "model" column you may need to do the following:
      1. Select the "config" option from the upper left corner of the tool
      2. Select DeviceId Options
      3. Select one of the two options available. By default neither are chosen, and my phone shows up fine with neither one selected.
    4. Click the [...] next to the filename box and browse to where you saved the .sbf file you want to use and double click the .sbf file.
    5. Hit start and below it should give you completion progress.
    6. Your phone will reboot and you will be on a stock 2.1 phone with SPRecovery installed.
    credit to ikithme and video at droid-life.com

    You now have the replacement boot-recovery app SPRecovery installed. You can use this tool to perform backups, restore those backups, apply update.zip updates, kernels, and flash full replacement roms.
     
  15. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Your phone needs to be in bootloader mode before step 2! You won't get any FC while in that mode plus you need to flash the 2.0
    1 sbf not the SPR one
     
Search tags for this page
droid x failure to boot
,
droid x will not boot into recovery
,
droid x2 failed to boot 1
,
motorola droid failed to boot
,
motorola phone says failed to boot 1
,
motorola photon failed to boot 1
,
motorola x failed to boot
,
motorolaphone failure to boot
,
motorolla atrix failed to boot 2
,

the application setup wizard process com.android.setupwizard