Droid Turbo going straight to Android 5.1 according to Motorola Tweet

Discussion in 'Android News' started by wicked, May 8, 2015.

  1. wicked

    wicked Administrator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,266
    Likes Received:
    1,496
    Trophy Points:
    273
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ratings:
    +1,698
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    @MikeAlvez
    [​IMG]


    I know you Droid Turbo owners are probably sick of waiting for Lollipop. You would think that a flagship that runs almost pure vanilla android would receive much faster updates. This is usually the case, however, the updates do have to be approved by the carrier, and in this case, with the Motorola DROID Turbo, it's exclusively on Verizon, and we already know that they're slow in pushing out updates.

    With that said, Motorola has just confirmed in a tweet that the Droid Turbo will get Android 5.1 Lollipop very soon which means that the handset will skip Android 5.0.


    [​IMG]

     
  2. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24,243
    Likes Received:
    5,276
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +5,860
    Motorola have been going a good job the past few years keeping their phones up on the latest software. I am even more impressed they were able to do this under Verizon.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,344
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,829
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Fingers crossed that this happens soon!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,152
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Am I going crazy... Or didn't the say this back in February???
     
  5. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,344
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,829
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    I thought they were talking 5.0.1 then... Could be wrong though
     
  6. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,152
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    No.. I went and researched it... In early March they announced they would skip 5.0.x and go right to 5.1...so idk.. I'm not suffering with any of the problems that others are talking about (call drops, call drops when attempting to use voice over data) or anything.. So.. I'm thrilled.. It seems the newer turbos have that issue.. My turbo is an older turbo.. Not old.. But built before October..
     
  7. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,344
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,829
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Yeah mines an original batch one too. I'm patiently waiting.
     
  8. PereDroid

    PereDroid DF News Team Reporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,374
    Likes Received:
    3,218
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +3,782
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Turbo 2
    Like I said somewhere else, I am thinking Moto is trying to tell us something here.

    "Pssst. Hey Moto owners. We are pretty much done with our L update. We are just waiting on VZW now..."

    Read it again.
    Doesn't it sound like that?
    We are working with our Partner. How many partners are there in the Turbo? I wouldn't consider Google 'the partner'. Who else could it be?
    VZW is probably testing the Bloat Apps or telling Moto which ones to add.
     
  9. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,344
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,829
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    I agree... I'm hoping to hear soak tests soon...
     
  10. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,979
    Likes Received:
    767
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +933
    The question is do I take the update, or plunge into "root"? Hopefully the exploit works on Lollipop to keep the option available.
     
  11. Ollie

    Ollie Droid Does

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    3,442
    Likes Received:
    2,103
    Trophy Points:
    1,468
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +2,483
    Current Phone Model:
    Note Edge - iPhone 6 Plus
    So this is their excuse for taking longer...Nah y'all don't need 5.0x we will give you 5.1. Later.
     
  12. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,152
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    I think the deal is this.. Vzw had moto build the turbo with the single antenna.. But vzw didn't get their infrastructure built out in time, so the turbo was released without vod. And then they started telling people that vod hadn't been available for a while.. Its what they told me.. First time e I've ever yelled at a rep... Then there appears to be a batch issue of the newer turbos having lots of volte issues.. Older ones... Not so much.. Idk y or if that's just happenstance..

    Then you have the issues with Android L and vzw demands "supposedly" that volte needs to work better... Or address these new issues.. So they scrapped 5.x.x and supposedly took the new improved source code of 5.1 and started the build out, fresh.. That's the line of garbage I was handed by a person who knows a person..


    I don't mean this statement to be taken as fact.. Just passing along the smoke I had blown at me..