DROID Turbo Can’t Currently do Simultaneous Voice and Data!

Discussion in 'Android News' started by Preach2k, Oct 31, 2014.

  1. Preach2k

    Preach2k DF News Team Reporter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,921
    Likes Received:
    1,450
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    Hometown Brooklyn, NY Now Fuquay Varina, NC
    Ratings:
    +1,487
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel XL/Galaxy Note 8
    Twitter:
    DroidNCState
    [​IMG]
    New DROID Turbo owners need to be aware of a feature that isn’t currently available on their device, but will be by the end of the year – simultaneous voice and data. We are not sure why the device isn’t capable of simultaneous voice and data out of the box, but Verizon has confirmed that Advanced Calling 1.0 which is VoLTE is required for it to work. Verizon has also confirmed that Advanced Calling 1.0 will arrive for the device by the end of the year.

    Knowing this, will you still purchase The Droid Turbo from Verizon, wait until the update to purchase it, or choose another phone such as Nexus 6 or Galaxy Note 4?

    Source
     
    #1 Preach2k, Oct 31, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 31, 2014
  2. xeene

    xeene Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    881
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    usa
    Ratings:
    +1,014
    Sony xperia z3v is also an option.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. realged13

    realged13 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    NC
    Ratings:
    +91
    Doesn't matter to me.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,468
    Likes Received:
    7,038
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,379
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    I was under the impression that VoLTE was rolling out in phases and not even ready for use in all areas. Is that not the case?

    To be honest, I haven't paid much attention to the news about it, because it's been the way it is for so long. Sure, it'll be nice to be on the phone and be able to look something up without having to be connected to wifi, but I've made it this far with the current limitations.
     
  5. PereDroid

    PereDroid DF News Team Reporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,284
    Likes Received:
    3,149
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +3,710
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Turbo 2
    I don't think I could care less, though. I can count on one hand how many times this affected me.
    (Not a tether user)
     
    • Like Like x 3
  6. xeene

    xeene Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    881
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    usa
    Ratings:
    +1,014
    See, I use voice and data simultaneously every day(remote desktop tech support for friends and family) and this would be a deal breaker for me.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  7. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,468
    Likes Received:
    7,038
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,379
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    But how long have you done this? As an IT director, I hear ya loud and clear, but we got by without the ability and they're saying here that it's coming to the device, just not ready yet. I'd rather see it work properly than launch early and be unreliable.
     
  8. xeene

    xeene Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    881
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    usa
    Ratings:
    +1,014
    I've been doing it since early 2011 when Verizon released htc Thunderbolt.
    I just don't understand how they could miss this when their earlier phones worked just fine out of the gates.
     
    • Like Like x 5
  9. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,468
    Likes Received:
    7,038
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,379
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    With wifi maybe. We're talking VoLTE here.
     
  10. xeene

    xeene Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    881
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    usa
    Ratings:
    +1,014
    No not wifi, I've been doing it over lte since 2011.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,468
    Likes Received:
    7,038
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,379
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    You're right. My bad. Just realized I've done this without even realizing it. I used wifi at home because I get better speeds, but I can remember multiple times I've been only the phone and use the net.

    So, now I'm even more confused. If we've been able to do this for this long, how is this phone not able to do it? Differently technology that makes it possible, but hasn't been implemented in this phone yet?

    Can someone that bought the Turbo already test this for us?
     
  12. xeene

    xeene Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    881
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    usa
    Ratings:
    +1,014
    Now that I think about this, it will effect a lot more people then just pc geeks like myself. If you are streaming audio/video and get a phone call, it will break your stream. If you are navigating and get a call it will not update instantly and you might miss something. If you are uploading data to cloud it will stop the upload depending on the app you might resume or start over. This is actually a bigger issue then it sounds.
     
    • Like Like x 3
Search tags for this page
does droid turbo have simultaneous voice and data
,
droid turbo data and voice
,
droid turbo data update
,

droid turbo simultaneous voice and data

,
droid turbo talk and data
,
droid turbo voice and data
,
loose data connection when on call driod turbo
,
motorola droid turbo data and voice
,
turbo does not handle voice and data
,
volte for droid turbo