Solved Droid Turbo 2 compass

Discussion in 'Android Support' started by timyoder, Aug 26, 2016.

  1. timyoder

    timyoder New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been having trouble over the past couple of weeks with the compass needle on my Droid Turbo 2. If I open Google Maps and the phone is in portrait mode, the blue arrow indicating direction spins counterclockwise quickly. If I turn the phone to landscape mode, it stops spinning and points in the general direction I'm holding the phone. Has anyone else seen this? Is this something I can fix or does the phone just need to be replaced? The phone is running stock Android 6.0
     
  2. Gudasau

    Gudasau Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +689
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    Interesting. Mine's doing the same. I haven't used Maps since I moved into this phone (Z Force), so hadn't noticed. Maybe a setting or need of a software update?

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
  3. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,301
    Likes Received:
    7,057
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,566
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    I doubt your phone needs to be replaced. It may just be an issue with Maps. What version of Maps do you have now? I have Maps version 9.33.1 and am not noticing the compass needle spinning, as described. Also, what are your Location Settings set to? I have mine set to High Accuracy. That may make a difference also? Maybe try updating the Maps app to the newest version available in the Play Store, reboot your phone and see how it works? If you are already on the most current version, sometimes uninstalling all updates to that app, reboot the phone, and then pre-installed the app updates helps resolve weird issues.

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,599
    Likes Received:
    1,680
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,822
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Gudasau

    Gudasau Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +689
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    I've got so much going on right now, I don't know which end's up LOL! I'm going to try this, hopefully today, and see if that's what MY issue is. Thanks, @CJM !
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Gudasau

    Gudasau Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +689
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    Calibrating my compass is exactly what was needed in my case, thank you! Now, after replacing the battery in my FJ, I need to do the same with it. 'Spose these instructions apply to the truck too

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,301
    Likes Received:
    7,057
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,566
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    If it's similar to my Jeep, you drive in a slow wide circle several times and it will recalibrate.

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Gudasau

    Gudasau Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +689
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    Cool! You just saved me looking that up. Thanks, Saj!

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,301
    Likes Received:
    7,057
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,566
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    You might want to look it up real quick, just to make sure it's not different. But that seems to be the general rule for some vehicle compasses.

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,599
    Likes Received:
    1,680
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,822
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    Thanks for the update, we marked this solved
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. Gudasau

    Gudasau Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +689
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    Were you waitin' on me? Sheeesh, sorry to take so long. My world is kinda upside down right now & my phone is not a top priority at the moment. Did the OP have the same issue?

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
  12. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,599
    Likes Received:
    1,680
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,822
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    I didn't scroll up to see who the OP was :( . You were more active in here than they were so I just assumed..... I'll leave it mark solved unless the OP comes back with more issues
     
    • Like Like x 2
Search tags for this page

android turbo compass

,

calibrate compass motorola droid turbo

,

compass app in droid turbo

,

does did turbo 2 have a compass

,

fix turbo 2 compass

,

how to calibrate droid turbo 2 compass

,

reset compass moto droid turbo 2

,

turbo 2 compass not working