Droid Technical Issue Summary

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by jwd45244, Oct 31, 2009.

  1. _33

    _33 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +15
    Is the voice dial something that could be added with an update?
     
  2. mth04

    mth04 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Theoretically yes. I firmware update could add supprt for it. I wouldn't freak over this. I would ask to take it outside an try it first. Maybe he will be pleasently surprised ;)
     
  3. bassic83

    bassic83 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston area
    Ratings:
    +0
    The voice dial function should be implemented soon after product launch, I'd think...could GoogleVoice be used to do this? Seems to me someone will have a script for this within a week...
     
  4. _33

    _33 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +15
    It's not even close to a deal breaker for me. From what I have read, the speaker is loud and clear. It would be nice to have a handsfree way of dialing/answering though.
     
  5. xjman349

    xjman349 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes it is a bit annoying the droid doesnt support GSM, however verizon wireless has a program called Global Travel Program if you are traveling out of the country and your phone wont work in that location we will send you out a phone to use while you are on your trip free of charge (except charges you will receive from making and or receiving calls):)
     
  6. JimMariner

    JimMariner Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,528
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    SE Florida
    Ratings:
    +9
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 64G
    Now this is something I didn't know Verizon Offered. Thanks for that Info !!!
     
  7. New2u

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,726
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +83
    Wow that's actually a really cool program, though I still support the idea, if your going to use the phone alot, just buy a pre-paid one over seas, it most likely would be alot cheaper (if your going to use it alot).
     
  8. JoeFresco

    JoeFresco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think you can just call simultaneous voice/data a non-issue. It means that when you need to route/GPS, you'll probably have to cut off the call. Sure, there may be caching of the GPS route on Google navigation, but there could easily be a time you'd need the Net back.

    Also, there's no voice while tethering.

    I don't consider this a dealbreaker just because I'd rather have 3G and no voice than 2G and no voice (ATT). But if ATT's coverage matched Verizon's, then it would definitely be superior.
     
  9. jwd45244

    jwd45244 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you read the first post? It is not about the phone.

    It is the Network. Verizon cannot do voice and data at the same time with any phone. It is a limitation of CDMA as it is currently implemented.

    There is a brand new engineering spec (CDMA2009) that has a new way of handling this. In order to implement it it will require changes to the tower gear and phones. Verizon is going to implement LTE instead.

    If you want that capability (voice and data at same time) and want an Android phone the only alternative is T-Mobile in the US at this time.
     
  10. JoeFresco

    JoeFresco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I apologize for not quoting. I was not responding to you, but the 7th post:

    "no cdma can do voice and data at the same time BUT with the added wi-fi the end user is good to go as the OP pointed out. So that is a non-issue..."

    I disagreed with him that it is a non-issue and explained why. I'm well aware of the CDMA technical limitations, and since I use an iPhone, I know what it is like to use voice+data at the same time, and I know what it is like to be on 2G (very common for me on ATT) and need to use the map and have to hang up the call.
     
  11. LifeIsABeach

    LifeIsABeach Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    So what would happen if you are in the car using the Droid Google Navigation app and a call came in? Would you get an indication that there is a call coming in and have to shut down navigation to answer it or would you never know there was a call and have it go straight to voicemail?
     
  12. dean.collins

    dean.collins Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    Basically your data will stop working.

    I agree CDMA sucks.
     
Search tags for this page
content
,
driods issues
,

droid issues

,
droid phone technical issues
,
mortrolla droid issues
,
motorala droid issues
,
motorola droid
,

motorola droid issues

,
technical issues with a motorola droid
,
technical issues with androids