DROID sucks in Alaska

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by hbar, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. hbar
    Offline

    hbar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Or, that was my experience. We were on the 'Extended Network', which is not roaming, and adds no extra costs. However, my Droid worked only as a phone, but no data reception. My wife's BB worked fine, just like at home. What's up with that?

    I have a love...hate/hate relationship with cell phones. I hated my Storm, for various reasons, but, at least, it worked worldwide, changing sim cards as we travelled. When I bought the Droid, the salesgirl told me I woul have to contact Verizon to unlock the phone, like the Storm. Of course, I waited about 3 weeks, past the return it if you don't want it time limit, to try that. That's when I found out the Droid is not multi band, and will not work in Europe, Russia, etc.

    I hate cell phones.
  2. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Droid was never marketed as a world phone....
  3. Serialkilla
    Offline

    Serialkilla New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sales reps will tell you what you wanna hear, to make a sale. Whether she knew or not(most likely not) that it wasn't a world phone, she was selling you that phone. Just doin' her job - sorry to say.
  4. Vulcan1600
    Offline

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    First of all, you have 30 days to return the phone or exchange it. Alaska is pretty sparce for the most part, so the fact there isn't much data unless you're in a fairly populated area isn't surprising. If your wife's BB was working with data, then yours should have too. You should have contacted VZW to see why. There could have been a provision issue. When you got your Droid, did you look to see if it had a SIM card like your BB Storm had? If a world phone is what you were looking for, then you needed to investigate further before you purchased a Droid.
  5. hbar
    Offline

    hbar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, I should have done more research. I saw my firend's Droid, so I went and bought it. However, I can't imagine a new phone like this being a local phone. My bad. Yes, she was selling phones. Probably didn't know any more than I did, or outright lied. Anyway, I've spent more and got less. This too shall pass. Very quickly.
  6. fenriswolf039
    Offline

    fenriswolf039 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is a Droid "world phone"...

    It's called the Milestone. Same phone, quad band GSM. Unlocked they're about $500 on Amazon.
  7. hbar
    Offline

    hbar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Interesting. Thanks.
    ..
    $489 and no warranty. Yeah, I see that happening. I would, at least, want to see the sim card slot, as the non-US version is otherwise same as, only different band, no sim, just microSD, like mine.

    I gave my Storm to my DIL. Guess I will trade with her, as she doesn't travel outside the US. Oh, well.
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2010
  8. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    the milestone is actually quite different.. both the hardware and software. but it's definitely a GSM phone, lots of folks on here have them
  9. Fault
    Offline

    Fault New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alaska network=fail
  10. gotta have that funk
    Offline

    gotta have that funk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    alaska sucks period. we're supposed to feel sorry for you that you couldnt get coverage in the middle of a frozen desert? come on..stop being ridiculous.
  11. greyghost04
    Offline

    greyghost04 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You have to know that the rest of the world is GSM. VRZ is CDMA. Leave the USA and your phone is not going to work. Works pretty cool here though.
  12. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Uh, it is perhaps worth noting that Alaska is not a foreign country, despite some of us believing that the actions of its former governor should be grounds for making it so.
  13. hbar
    Offline

    hbar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you read what I said, you will see your post is irrelevent.

    I'm aware of GSM. I used my BB in Russia, and throughout Europe. Needing such, I will replace the Droid before we go back to Russia at Thanksgiving.

    Otoh, we have had GSM phones for the last 8 years. We have 6 or 8, to be relatively exact. We pass them out to team mwmbers when we take groups on our travels.
  14. Barkleyfan
    Offline

    Barkleyfan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    Gonna have to search on world phones. And even then, nothing is guaranteed. Sprint went WiMax, T-Mo with HSPA+, and both Verizon and ATT are going LTE for their next generation network. Other countries are not yet committed to the route they wish to take. I believe there is one Russian network that went WiMax, but others could go a different route. It doesn't matter what you buy, you will find regions that don't support it. And just to further mess things up, Apple has gone to micro-sim, so even if the new network supports the bands you're on, they also need to support the new sim card structure.
  15. Navalynt
    Offline

    Navalynt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    There's more coverage in Alaska then many of you realize. I work for GCI Wireless which also owns Alaska Digitel so we have both GSM (EDGE) and CDMA (EVDO Rev.A) networks. Unfortunately Verizon roams off one of our competitors so I couldn't be much help.

    I personally bought a Droid A855 and re-programmed it to use our network and it works GREAT! A little hex editing of the NV items to change the data usernames was all it took.
  16. chrisofer
    Offline

    chrisofer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It might be a little late, but I just joined the forums and I'll give my advice for your problem. I Just got stationed in Fairbanks at the first part of July and had the same problem when I landed, had voice and text but no data.

    Go into your phone settings and check "Use data while roaming" or something like that and you'll have your 3G in Alaska
  17. Johnly
    Online

    Johnly Guest

    Alaska is American! My dad works there often. Those that say Alaska sucks are sucking on wishes to see the beautiful scape! Remember folks, they don't call Alaska the last frontier for nothing ; ) Don't expect a super network in pristine Alaska....
  18. alaskarose
    Offline

    alaskarose New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No Travel Outside Alaska but roaming stopped overnigh

    :icon_evil: I have had these trouble with roaming with my new Droid X after flying in from the Lower 48, but if I remove the battery and replace, the roaming returns. This morning the phone just stopped roaming at 7 a.m. Nothng worked including calling Verizon. Changing the setting as mentioned above seems to work. Thanks so much.
  19. AKflyer
    Offline

    AKflyer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Droid in Alaska

    Well, I switched to a Droid with ACS, from an iPhone with AT&T. Overall a very positive change. The AT&T 3g coverage is pretty good in the Anchorage area, and seems more consistent than the ACS 3G coverage. As soon as you leave the big city area, there's no comparison - the ACS 3G coverage is waaaay better. If you spend any time up on the North Slope, AT&T is pretty much useless for data. ACS 3G coverage up there is very good. Anywhere in between (except for Fairbanks).... good luck getting anything with any provider! After all, it is Alaska. If you have any cell phone coverage at all, you're really not in the wilderness yet. ;-)
  20. HardcoreAK
    Offline

    HardcoreAK New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alaska
    Just a few notes. I am with ACS, and have been since 1994. I have looked over the fence, since the beginning, especially when you could get a whopping 500 minutes from ACS for 100/ month, and they had unlimited calling etc, from AT&T, then they had the iPhone, and ACS was jamming us in the rear with cheap junk candy bars, and "the Q".

    Thing is this, way back then in the 90's, I could make full calls from many VERY remote locations, like out on the ICE of the Beaufort Sea with my old Moto Flip Phone, I could call home, when my coworkers, and such with AT&T (Always Trying & Trying) couldnt even get a bar of signal with a BAG PHONE.

    Nowadays with ACS we get DECENT 3G coverage pretty much anywhere you WANT to be in Alaska. AT&T gets ok sorta crappy service in the outlying areas, but GREAT coverage in the Big City. Out of town, You may have to climb up a tree, or get on top of your cabin, LOL, It may not be lightning fast, but its there. AT&T is just that, Always Trying & Trying & Trying.... IMHO they suck in Alaska.

    So anyway, yeah Alaska sucks too, but the biggest mistake ever made in Alaska was accepting Statehood. Now we are saddled with all the beaureaucrats from DC telling us what to do, how to live, what to eat, and when we can eat it, where we can piss, and how much it will cost to clean it up. Besides the State of Alaska is just a huge SAP on the 'overflowing' coffers of the federal reserve of "The Great 48". Most Alaskans feel that Alaska should have remained a territory, we have gotten a belly full of 'pukers' telling us what to do.

    Yeah, SO sell Alaska to us for .02c on the dollar, and take your beareaucrat's back, find a little cubicle for them to rant, rave, and spew out rules, drama and politics to control YOU as they dwell the rest of there miserable career in YOUR back yard.

    It sucks here, SO dont bother coming here.
    We got enough people here anyway.
    LOL. Peace Out.:icon_ lala:
Search tags for this page
android bionic will not work in barrow, alaska
,
does a droid 2 work in alaska?
,
does acs alaska carry the new motorola maxx???
,
does verizon charge roaming in alaska
,
gci alaska sim network unlock pin galaxy s4
,
gci coverage sucks
,
gci iphone sucks
,

gci sucks alaska

,
gci sucks and is a ripoff
,
i have a droid 3g verizon cell phones, will it work in alask
,

verison sucks in alaska

,
why does my verizon suck in alaska