DROID sucks in Alaska

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by hbar, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. hbar

    hbar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Or, that was my experience. We were on the 'Extended Network', which is not roaming, and adds no extra costs. However, my Droid worked only as a phone, but no data reception. My wife's BB worked fine, just like at home. What's up with that?

    I have a love...hate/hate relationship with cell phones. I hated my Storm, for various reasons, but, at least, it worked worldwide, changing sim cards as we travelled. When I bought the Droid, the salesgirl told me I woul have to contact Verizon to unlock the phone, like the Storm. Of course, I waited about 3 weeks, past the return it if you don't want it time limit, to try that. That's when I found out the Droid is not multi band, and will not work in Europe, Russia, etc.

    I hate cell phones.
     
  2. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,260
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Droid was never marketed as a world phone....
     
  3. Serialkilla

    Serialkilla Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sales reps will tell you what you wanna hear, to make a sale. Whether she knew or not(most likely not) that it wasn't a world phone, she was selling you that phone. Just doin' her job - sorry to say.
     
  4. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,806
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +240
    First of all, you have 30 days to return the phone or exchange it. Alaska is pretty sparce for the most part, so the fact there isn't much data unless you're in a fairly populated area isn't surprising. If your wife's BB was working with data, then yours should have too. You should have contacted VZW to see why. There could have been a provision issue. When you got your Droid, did you look to see if it had a SIM card like your BB Storm had? If a world phone is what you were looking for, then you needed to investigate further before you purchased a Droid.
     
  5. hbar

    hbar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I should have done more research. I saw my firend's Droid, so I went and bought it. However, I can't imagine a new phone like this being a local phone. My bad. Yes, she was selling phones. Probably didn't know any more than I did, or outright lied. Anyway, I've spent more and got less. This too shall pass. Very quickly.
     
  6. fenriswolf039

    fenriswolf039 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is a Droid "world phone"...

    It's called the Milestone. Same phone, quad band GSM. Unlocked they're about $500 on Amazon.
     
  7. hbar

    hbar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Interesting. Thanks.
    ..
    $489 and no warranty. Yeah, I see that happening. I would, at least, want to see the sim card slot, as the non-US version is otherwise same as, only different band, no sim, just microSD, like mine.

    I gave my Storm to my DIL. Guess I will trade with her, as she doesn't travel outside the US. Oh, well.
     
    #7 hbar, Jun 17, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2010
  8. Sam

    Sam Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,467
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    the milestone is actually quite different.. both the hardware and software. but it's definitely a GSM phone, lots of folks on here have them
     
  9. Fault

    Fault Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alaska network=fail
     
  10. gotta have that funk

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    alaska sucks period. we're supposed to feel sorry for you that you couldnt get coverage in the middle of a frozen desert? come on..stop being ridiculous.
     
  11. greyghost04

    greyghost04 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    You have to know that the rest of the world is GSM. VRZ is CDMA. Leave the USA and your phone is not going to work. Works pretty cool here though.
     
  12. jsh1120

    jsh1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,454
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Ratings:
    +1
    Uh, it is perhaps worth noting that Alaska is not a foreign country, despite some of us believing that the actions of its former governor should be grounds for making it so.
     
Search tags for this page
android bionic will not work in barrow, alaska
,
does acs alaska carry the new motorola maxx???
,
does a droid 2 work in alaska?
,
gci alaska sim network unlock pin galaxy s4
,
gci coverage sucks
,
gci iphone sucks
,

gci sucks alaska

,
gci sucks and is a ripoff
,

verison sucks in alaska

,
why does my verizon suck in alaska