1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Droid stuck at M logo

Discussion in 'Rescue Squad Help' started by doublea500, Feb 23, 2011.

  1. doublea500
    Offline

    doublea500 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i use cm3 nightly as my rom. i wanted to use rzr recovery so i used the .zip and flashed it. it worked well and i had the recovery. then i flashed the new cm5 nightly rom with it and made a backup once i installed the cm5 rom. however i got stuck at the M logo when i tried to boot. im not sure if its the rom thats doing it. however i used a .sbf to get back to clockwork recovery and i still get the M logo. my droid only has around 50% battery so i dont want to do something dumb with the small time i got left on it. should i do a recovery to another rom? should i do a rsd thing? please help me!!
  2. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    try to manually boot into recovery and flash a backup if you have one.
  3. doublea500
    Offline

    doublea500 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    a backup of an old rom you mean right?
  4. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    yep.........
  5. doublea500
    Offline

    doublea500 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok ill try it. i really really hope it works
  6. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    it should, make sure you wipe data and cache before you flash the backup though!
  7. doublea500
    Offline

    doublea500 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    crap............ didnt do that. will it matter?
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2011
  8. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    that's ok, you can do the process over again. Boot back into recovery when you can, wipe data and cache, flash the backup.
  9. doublea500
    Offline

    doublea500 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do i have to do it 3x?
  10. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    depends who you ask, one wipe should do the trick though.
  11. doublea500
    Offline

    doublea500 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wait edit!!! it works!!!!! wow am i relieved! i was crapping my pants lol, ripping out my hair. as if it was the day when i got my boot thing repeated. 20% left to spare too:D, woulda been screwed if it didnt work. sorry for my language but im so happy! thank god! i can finally go to sleep! im skipping the cm5 nightly, waiting for cm6. i will never go back to 5 lol:D. thanks for the help


    edit:kinda ironic considering that the main factor was the battery and that rzr recovery charges the battery. what i probably would of done is flash the rzr recovery back then charge to 100% then i woulda restored it.
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2011
  12. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    awesome, as long as the phone turns on even if it won't boot there is generally always a way to recover it.
  13. doublea500
    Offline

    doublea500 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yep, my droids a tank:D. gotta learn this the hard way. well the good thing that came out of this is now i know how to use rsdlite. and now i have another "way out" to keep my phone safe (rzr battery charge).