Droid shuts down

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by pntr2001, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. pntr2001
    Offline

    pntr2001 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Droid seemed to go into hibrnate mode but when I pushed the button to wake it up, it did nothing. I couldn't get it to come back on. I had to pull the battery out then it booted up. Not sure why it did this, has anyone had this happen before? First time I have experienced this problem. Thanks in advance
     
  2. VIRominoff
    Offline

    VIRominoff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had this happen.

    I did three things that day

    panda home was set to default
    gallery 2.1 installed
    Launcher 2.1 installed.


    I had to wipe to the phone.
     
  3. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,469
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    had that happen with panda too. could be coincidence.. i do not have anything 2.1 yet.
     
  4. wmnrider
    Offline

    wmnrider New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That has happened to me twice, I don't have Panda at all.
     
  5. PJnc284
    Offline

    PJnc284 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    happened to me yesterday. had to pull the battery twice to get it back up. I'm using the 2.1 gallery and launcher
     
  6. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Usually this is the result of an app that is causing problems. Either that or you have a defective phone. Only way to tell is to wipe the phone and add the apps back in one at a time until you find the bugger that's doing it.

    I will tell you that Advance Task Killer is known for doing this so if you're running ATK try taking that out and that should solve your problem.
     
  7. Vitticeps
    Offline

    Vitticeps Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Only time i've encountered it is when I lock the phone while the camera app is running. Not every time I lock it with the camera on but every time it has happened, that was the active app.
     
  8. pntr2001
    Offline

    pntr2001 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have advanced task killer loaded, I will remove it and see if it happens again. Thanks guys
     
  9. scarrz
    Offline

    scarrz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had this happen 3x's and took it back to Verizon. They gave me a new phone (I was still under my 30 day trial period). There is another thread pertaining to random reboots and shut downs. The fact that I could not turn it back on via the power switch was concerning. Having to reload my freebie apps was not fun but did not take as long as I thought.

    So far knock on wood my new phone has not shut down.
     
Search tags for this page
android 4.4 shut my phone down
,
droid phone shut down
,
droid phone shut down and super hot
,

droid shuts down

,
droid x power up then shuts down
,
motorola android 4 just shuts down
,
motorola droid shuts down
,
motorola xt875 boots up and immediately shuts down help
,
my droid shut down now it is on powerup mode
,
what to do when motorola droid over heats and shuts down