Droid saying "droid"

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by wakapapa, Apr 25, 2010.

  1. wakapapa

    wakapapa New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sure this is a dumb question but what is going on with the Droid when I hear it say "droid". It does this periodically when the Droid is turned on. I guess it's trying to notify me of something - but what?
     
  2. Wuzz Ranger

    Wuzz Ranger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's either mail, text message, voicemail, or calendar.
     
  3. Ambulance Dude

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    texarkana
    Ratings:
    +0
    That you have a droid. Lol sorry couldn't resist.
     
  4. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    That's the standard notification. When it turns on, it does it to let you know that it's booted the phone and mounted the SD card successfully. If you want it to stop, then you need to change your "default notification" in the sound settings.
     
  5. icculusX

    icculusX Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    And in each app such as SMS, Gmail, GTalk... you can edit settings to change what notification sound it uses... Some even let you change the LED blinking color. Very nice so you know if you got a new email or chat.
     
  6. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    missed call (on the market) will let you change the notification sounds of most features
     
  7. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    You don't really need an app to change sound notifications. You can do it in your settings.

    Now you might need one for individual contact notifications.....:)
     
  8. Jim 777

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,286
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +11
    It's just lonely and really wants to hear your voice back. When you hear it, just say your name back to it.

    A needed droid is a happy droid. :D
     
  9. EbE404

    EbE404 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    OT, but my wife and I both have Droids. To make some kind of audible differentiation between the two, I extracted the "Droid" WAV, ran it through an audio editor and pitch shifted it up an octave (called the file Droid-ette). Now, when they are sitting in the chargers in the other room and the notifications start coming in, it sounds like they are having a conversation:

    DROID!
    Droid
    Droid
    DROID!
     
    #9 EbE404, Apr 26, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2010
  10. MontyMo

    MontyMo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey Jim #777,

    What widget are you using for volume on the top of the 2nd screen from the left?
    [​IMG]
    Thanks
    Monty
     
  11. jsh1120

    jsh1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,454
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's a skinned version of Audio Manager, I believe, available with the paid version of the app.
     
  12. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Keep an eye on the notification bar. It does this once the SD Card is prepared for use. I think it may do this once on startup during the animation as well...
     
Search tags for this page
android ringtone that says droid
,

droid saying

,
droid saying droid ringtone
,
free droid saying message
,
ringtone saying droid
,
ringtone says droid
,

ringtone that says droid

,
ringtone that says droid not on galaxy s4
,
ringtones that says droid
,
why does droid periodically say droid