Droid running without battery!

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by doublea500, Mar 13, 2011.

  1. doublea500
    Offline

    doublea500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
    am i really this behind because i just figured this out. its kinda amazing. my droid when plugged into a power source, can run without a battery! imma upload a picture showing this.

    Edit: my droid can only run when connected to an outlet, not my computer. probably not enough voltage to power the droid.

    The vertical pic is w/o battery and horizontal is with. Sorry your going to have to slant your head

    Attached Files:

  2. jchammer123
    Offline

    jchammer123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +2
    That is pretty interesting!
  3. SwiftLegend
    Offline

    SwiftLegend Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +8
    Most electronics can do that.....

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  4. pyro6128
    Offline

    pyro6128 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +8
    haha yea the thread title is misleading, like the above poster said, most electronics do this
  5. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    My 2 Global cannot run without the battery.

    I'd like to though
  6. SwiftLegend
    Offline

    SwiftLegend Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +8
    Its pretty useless, just so you known

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  7. doublea500
    Offline

    doublea500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
    I know!!! i was amazed... like i was sitting there i was recharging my backup battery, took the battery out and the droid kept going. then i replugged and im like "whats it doin" and "no way its gettin past the M" lol it did though:D.

    yea i know, but you gotta give me some credit on the name though, it is true.

    :D try using an outlet if you were using a cpu. or if you were using an outlet try using your cpu.

    well, what if you have no battery and you need to do a nandroid recovery?




    Post #400 for me
  8. smokiedabong
    Offline

    smokiedabong Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Internet
    Ratings:
    +14
    It's useful for me . I have one of my OG Droids sticked on a wall with the keyboard slid out and a clock application running . I use it as a wall clock and it doesn't have the battery , only a power source .
  9. doublea500
    Offline

    doublea500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
    thats actually a good idea. running droid all night w/o ruining battery. however, itd probably be smarter not to do this. it probably costs alot more on the electric bill then just getting a new 5$ battery from amazon.
  10. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've done it before with mine so its possible. Have to run it off a wall charger, not a usb cord plugged into a computer.

    Sent from my Fissioned D2G
  11. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    Useless?

    I want to do it for the same reason I run laptops without a battery:

    Battery will not get hot, suffer from staying charged, or lose capacity.
  12. Chizzele
    Offline

    Chizzele Team Sourcery Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Any laptop would do that to...
  13. Chizzele
    Offline

    Chizzele Team Sourcery Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Ratings:
    +17
    It can be useful i agree, if your battery quits on you, you can still use the phone to a certin degree until the replacement comes.

    BTW, it should work without battery on a car charger to... for anyone in need a navi..
  14. XanRules
    Offline

    XanRules Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lithium Ion batteries do not lose capacity due to being charged.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  15. freezyfreaky
    Offline

    freezyfreaky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is not true. This is from wikipedia:

    Lithium-ion battery - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Search tags for this page

droid x without battery

,
how to turn on android phone without battery
,

how to use a phone without a battery

,

how to use android phone without battery

,
how to use android without battery
,

run android phone without battery

,

run droid x without battery

,

turn on android phone without battery

,

use android phone without battery

,

use droid x without battery