Droid running at 1GHz

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by se7enth_sinn, Mar 24, 2010.

  1. se7enth_sinn

    se7enth_sinn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone run the Droid at 1ghz for at least a week can confirm that it's stable at that speed?
     
  2. Speeding Wheels

    Speeding Wheels Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,555
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Detroit - in da burbs!
    Ratings:
    +16
    Depends on your unit.. most are stable at 1Ghz.. personally I run at 800Mhz.
    It's stable, smooth and dosent get nearly as warm.
     
  3. Meto

    Meto Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been running at 1Ghz for weeks now with no issues. Makes a big difference.. :icon_ banana:
     
  4. mills

    mills Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problems at all when I did.
     
  5. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'm running at 1ghz stable.
     
  6. jasonb

    jasonb Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    i usually run at 1ghz. been fine like this for weeks.
     
  7. superglen99

    superglen99 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Auburn,WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    1ghz stable for a month now
     
  8. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    Same here, 1Ghz for several weeks....Zero Issues.
     
  9. DroidxRage

    DroidxRage Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New England - Home of Champions
    Ratings:
    +0
    1.1GHz...for a month or so.... take that guys! :p



    ;) lol
     
  10. Brokn68

    Brokn68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I plan to run liquid nitrogen and push it to 2ghz.
    [​IMG]
    As you can see, I'll loose a little portability, but the speed gains are so worth it.
     
  11. BuzWeaver

    BuzWeaver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice, obviously you're going to want to use your Blue Tooth for calls.
     
  12. BuzWeaver

    BuzWeaver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    My concern with Over-Clocking would be the amount of stress placed on the hardware. I have a feeling that Over-Clocking would shorten the life span of the phone.
     
  13. icculusX

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    hahaha too funny...

    I have been at 800 for a while, then 1000 for the past week or so, working great. Smooth and fast, and not really any high temps. Using Chevy's kernel. One issue is sometimes youtube videos wont play, they begin, then randomly stop even tho they are loading fine. Then I have to back out and try again... annoying. Someone told me this was a kernel issue? I dono.
     
  14. bdr0023

    bdr0023 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I ran chevy's kernel for a couple weeks and noticed that if I set the clock speed back to 550 the videos would work for me, don't know if it'll help in your case.

    BTW been running 1.1 since SG6.0 was released, totally stable with no heat issues.
     
  15. icculusX

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will try that, but that's annoying man if I have to change my clocking every time I wanna see a video... AdamZ kernels good? I never tried any of them.